Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EMS: EMT and Paramedic: Find Articles

The Literature of EMS: Journals and Trade Magazines

The library subscribes to an array of health sciences databases that provide access to the literature of prehospital medicine. Content in databases does not live for free on the Internet.  Find the College Library's Health Sciences databases here-- https://libguides.ucc.edu/az.php?s=113044

Database Access: Please Note -- If you are not logged in to your College account, you will be prompted to do so. Off-campus log-in has the following format: 

  • For students:  firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu, your password. 
  • For faculty and staff:  username@ucc.edu, your password.

Get to know the following journals and trade magazines in your field, they may be in the library databases, on the Web (library online subscriptions or limited Open Access via the publisher site), or on the shelf in the Plainfield Campus Library.

To determine which database a journal or trade magazine is in, if it is on the shelf or on a publisher's Web site, use the E- Journals link on the Library homepage.

  • British Paramedic Journal --  in database.
  • EMS World --  a trade magazine, available on publisher Web site.
  • JEMS (Journal of Emergency Medical Services)--  a trade magazine, available on publisher Web site.
  • Journal of Emergency Management --  small run of back issues on shelf at the Plainfield Campus Library and some Open Access articles on the Archives page of the publisher Web site.
  • Journal of Paramedic Practice --  indexed and limited full-text database access.
  • Prehospital and Disaster Medicine --  in databases and back issues on shelf at the Plainfield Campus Library.
  • Prehospital Emergency Care --  in databases and back issues on shelf at the Plainfield Campus Library.

 

Fraud and Mistakes in Scholarly Literature

Retraction Watch --  Be aware, be informed.  Minor mistakes such as typos or wrong addresses can happen in scholarly literature. These can be corrected by issuing an erratum notice to point out the errors.  But sometimes, an entire article has to be recalled because the mistakes are serious. This act of recalling the article is called retraction, and it's not often well publicized, even though consequences of flawed research can be devastating. Here's a blog that serves as a "...an informal repository for the retractions" found by the blog's two author's (Adam Marcus, and Ivan Oransky).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can help you locate scholarly literature within the Union College Libraries print and electronic resources. 

Google Scholar Search

EMT/Paramedic articles

Use the following databases to find articles about EMT, Paramedic, prehospital medicine and other healthcare topics.  To access the databases, go the the Union College Libraries health databases page and click on the database name.

Please note:

  • If you are not logged in, you will be prompted to do so.
  • All of the databases listed below are available from off-campus.  Off-campus log-in has the following format: 

For students-- firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu, then your password

For faculty and staff-- username@ucc.edu, then your password

Alt HealthWatch   Vendor description: This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Biomedical Reference Collection Comprehensive   Vendor description: Designed for doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers, this database provides nearly 900 full text journals, including nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications, covering virtually all areas of medical study. Journals available in full text in Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in MEDLINE.

CINAHL Complete   Vendor description: This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.

CINAHL Online Tutorials

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center database -- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center database is a "go to" resource for information about careers. Learn all about what is required for work in most any field. Ferguson's offers live job postings.

To access Ferguson's:

  • go to the Union College Libraries database page
  • see the list of databases
  • click on Ferguson's Career Guidance Center-- please note, from off campus you will be prompted to log-in using your full Union College username and password
  • search the Ferguson's database for jobs in the EMS field 

Medline  Vendor description:  MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Medline Online Tutorials

Medline, PubMed, PMC (PubMed Central): How Are They Different?

Nursing & Allied Health Collection Comprehensive   Vendor description: Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL.

PubMed  Available since 1996, PubMed has more than 30 million references.  Its citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PMC, and 3) National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf (NCBI). Click here for an overview of PubMed.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Elsa Bruguier
Contact:
Elsa Bruguier, M.L.S., M.A.
Union College Libraries
Plainfield Campus Librarian
232 East Second Street
Plainfield, NJ 07060

Email or call to make a research appointment.

bruguier@ucc.edu
908- 412-3569
UC LibGuides at Union County College