Alzheimer's Disease and Healthy Aging Data -- from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Advanced Directives -- New Jersey provides two types of advanced directives, a "proxy directive" [Durable Power of Attorney for Healthcare] and an "instructive directive" [Living Will]). The State's Department of Health defines what advanced directives are, and provides printable forms of each.
Alternatives to Nursing Homes -- this site is from Medicare.gov, and offers resources that can provide options for long-term care.
ConsultGeriRN -- is "evidence-based geriatric clinical nursing website of The Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing, at New York University's College of Nursing." It offers information on clinical resources and tools, continuing education, advocacy, specialty areas, and more.
Division of Aging Services, State of New Jersey -- under the umbrella of New Jersey the Department of Human Services "...The Division of Aging Services (DoAS) administers a number of federal and state-funded programs that make it easier for older adults to live in the community as long as possible with independence, dignity and choice."
Healthy Aging -- from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
LongTermCare.gov -- gain a full understanding of the facets of long-term care ("it's not just insurance"). A service of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Long-Term Care Resources -- "... toolkits, recommendations, and other resources for long-term care facilities to improve quality, reduce errors, and increase patient safety." The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality provides this information.
NJPOLST: via the New Jersey Hospital Association website: "Practitioner Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment – is a healthcare planning tool that empowers individuals to work closely with their medical team to detail their personal goals and medical preferences when facing a serious illness. Gov. Chris Christie signed New Jersey's POLST law in December 2011, and it's now being introduced statewide to help patients and families with end-of-life care planning."
Scroll down for links to webinars, resources for patients and family members, and resources for healthcare providers.
Nursing Home Compare -- this is an official federal government Web site for Medicare. It contains "detailed information about every Medicare and Medicaid nursing home in the country."
Office of the Ombudsman for the Institutionalized Elderly -- "The Office of the Ombudsman for the Institutionalized Elderly investigates allegations of abuse and neglect of people, age 60 and older, living in nursing homes and other long-term healthcare facilities."
POLST -- Physician Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment. POLST is part of advanced care planning and is medical order form that travels with a seriously ill or frail person so that all health care providers are clear about that person's medical condition, treatment options, and in a medial emergency, what that person wants to happen.
Reducing Falls in Older Adults-- an article that identifies 7 steps to reduce fall risks.
The Merck Manual -- this medical topic section focuses on geriatrics (professional edition).
Try This:® Best Practices from the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing -- this is a series of assessment tools (articles and videos) on issues specific to the care of older adults. These are screening, not diagnostic resources.
Healthy People 2020: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health -- NOTE: this is the now ARCHIVED site. Information may be out of date. Healthy People provides "...science-based 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans."
Healthy People 2030: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health -- sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade to support"...improving the health and well-being of LGBT populations through health behavior objectives, objectives to address systemic problems, and objectives to increase data collection on LGBT health and well-being..."
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health: Is Nursing Still in the Closet? -- this is a free online version of a November 2011 article that appeared in the peer-reviewed, evidence-based journal The American Journal of Nursing.
Long-term Care Considerations for LGBT Adults -- supplemental information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Administration on Aging-- LGBT specific information about the unique needs and considerations of planning for future care. See Longtermcare.gov for overall information.
National Resource Center on LGBT Aging -- this center, founded in 2010 through a U.S. Departmment of Health and Human Services grant, is the first of its kind. It is offers this site which includes wide ranging information on LGBT older adults, including webinar training sessions designed to help service providers offer culturally competent care.
Nursings' Silence on LGBT Issues: Click on the full-text image of the article. It was publised in the July/September 2010 peer-reviewed journal, Advances in Nursing Science.
The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People: Building a Foundation for Better Understanding -- this is a 2011 Consensus Report issued by the Institute of Medicine. Click the link on the right side of the page to "Read Report Online for Free."
Understanding the Well-Being of LGBTQI+ Populations -- a 2020 Consensus Report by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Medicine.
When Health Care Isn't Caring-- conducted by the Lambda Legal Defense Fund, this "...survey is the first to examine refusal of care and barriers to health care among LGBT and HIV communities on a national scale..."
