Ready Reference: Dictionaries and Thesauri

Online resources

Dictionaries

APA Dictionary of Psychology

Black's Medical Dictionary

Cambridge Dictionaries Online

Merriam-Webster Dictionary

OneLook Dictionary

RhymeZone

Urban Dictionary -- a user written slang dictionary

Visual Dictionary Online

Thesauri

A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots

Merriam Webster Thesaurus

Roget's International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases

Print resources

DICTIONARIES

A Dictionary of American Idioms -- Cranford: REF 423.1 Ma289e5

A Dictionary of Yiddish Slang & Idioms -- Plainfield: REF 437K

Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary Supplement --  Plainfield: REF 423.1Ga131

Bernstein's Reverse Dictionary --  Cranford, Elizabeth, Plainfield: REF 423.1Be458 

Dictionary of Antisemitism from the Earliest Times to the Present -- Plainfield: REF 305.892Mi582

Juba to Jive: A Dictionary of African-American Slang --  Plainfield: REF 427.09Ju872

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions --  Cranford, Plainfield: REF 610.3 Mo85e10

Random House Webster's American Sign Language Legal Dictionary --  Plainfield: REF 371.9127 CO824

Similes Dictionary -- Cranford, Plainfield REF 082 SI45

The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language --  Cranford, Elizabeth, Plainfield: REF 423AM35E3

The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language -- Cranford, Plainfield: REF 419.03Ga135

THESAURI

American Heritage Thesaurus for Learners of English -- Elizabeth: REF 428.1 LE49

Roget's International Thesaurus -- Plainfied: REF 423.1Ro634e7r

Thesaurus of American Slang --  Plainfied: REF 427.973 CH367