Women's History: Find Images

• The Metropolitan Museum of Art - New York, New York, USA (Images cannot be downloaded; contact museum for copyright permissions).  A search "Women's History" brings up over 1,800 results of work by women artists and artworks of women.
• The Museum of Modern Art - New York, New York, USA (Images cannot be downloaded; contact museum for copyright permissions).  A search for "Women's History" brings up over 99,000 results of work by women artists and artworks of women.
• The National Gallery of Art - Washington, D.C., USA.  If you'd like to reproduce or download images from the National Gallery of Art, use the specific link in this guide to get to the Collection of Downloadable Images; these images are open access.  Using the filters on the left hand side, you can create more targeted searches like "women in religion" and "apocalyptic women".
• Tate - London, England (Images cannot be downloaded; contact museum for copyright permissions).  You can search by Artist, Artwork, Archive Items, and more.  The keyword "feminism" brings up many results in all collections.  Suggestion: search in the "artists" category to find female artists whose work is informed by the women's rights movement and feminist philosophy.
• Smithsonian Institute - Washington D.C., USA. Open Access collection.

Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party - From the Library of Congress.  448 digitalized photographs, spanning from 1875-1938.

Women’s Suffrage: Pictures of Suffragists and their Activities - From the Library of Congress. Late 19th century - 1920.

Rosie Pictures: Select Images Relating to American Women Workers During World War II - From the Library of Congress.

American Women: Resources from the Prints and Photographs Collections, Photojournalism Collections - From the Library of Congress.

American Women: Resources from the Prints & Photographs Collections, Graphic Journalism & Illustration Collections - From the Library of Congress.

American Women: Resources from the Prints & Photographs Collections, Pictures: Business and Art - From the Library of Congress.

American Women: Resources from the Prints & Photographs Collections, Advertising & Propaganda - From the Library of Congress.

American Women: Resources from the Prints & Photographs Collections

• Images from Organizations' Records
• Images from Personal Papers 
• Documentary Surveys 
• Design Collections 

• New York Public Library Digital Collections - New York, New York, USA.  Using the search bar, you can find a plethora of images relating to women's history, feminism, women in the military, etc.  Make sure to check off "search public domain materials" if you want to reuse or modify the image.

To check if your image is open access, navigate to the bottom of the record and look for the phrase: "*not open to the public".