LibGuides: Women's History: Periodicals and Videos

UCNJ Libraries' Databases to Find Journal Articles

Use the subject dropdown menu to limit databases by subject. Some subjects to search for Women's History sources are: Controversial and Contemporary Issues, History, & News and Statistics.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a full text database that provides archival material dating back to 1970, with authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies are included coverage areas. With hundreds of academic, gray, and popular literature titles from voices seldom heard in the mainstream media, researchers have access to robust collections of articles on wide-ranging topics from over three decades of gender studies.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints covers social issues from a variety of perspectives. A rich resource for debaters, the database includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database that provides students with a series of controversial essays representing multiple sides of a current issue. Essays include questions and materials for further thought and study with supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
African-American History (FOF) This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History explores the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.
History Research Center This link opens in a new window
A searchable platform of all the Library's Facts on File History databases: African-American, American, Ancient & Medieval, and Modern World.
Modern World History (FOF) This link opens in a new window
Modern World History considers world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Using thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos, slideshows, maps, graphs, primary sources, and timelines, it provides a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

Videos from the UCNJ Libraries' Films on Demand Database

The Library has access to many databases that contain videos to stream. Here is a selection of videos from the Films on Demand database:

E-Journals from the UCNJ Libraries' Gale One File: Diversity Studies Database

Feminist Collections: A Quarterly of Women's Studies Resources - UCNJ Libraries has full text coverage for this magazine/journal from January 2002- June 2016.
Feminist Studies - A triannual, peer-reviewed magazine/journal. UCNJ Libraries has full text coverage for this magazine/journal from March 1987 - Current.
Lilith: A Feminist History Journal - An annual, peer-reviewed magazine/journal. UCNJ Libraries has full text coverage for this magazine/journal from January 2006- January 2007.
Columbia Journal of Gender and Law - A triannual, peer-reviewed magazine/journal. UCNJ Libraries has full text coverage for this magazine/journal from January 2002 - Current.
Peace and Freedom - a semiannual magazine/journal. UCNJ Libraries has full text coverage for this magazine/journal from January 2001 - Current.
Women's E-News - a weekly magazine/journal. UCNJ Libraries has full text coverage for this magazine/journal from March 2003 - July 2005.
Women's Quarterly - a quarterly magazine/journal. UCNJ Libraries has full text coverage for this magazine/journal from January 2001 - March 2003.

Articles from the Web

Missing Women: Tackling Gender Imbalance in Social Studies Textbooks - From the newsmagazine Perspectives on History, 2021
Where Are They Now? Past Choices That Shaped the Historical Record - From the newsmagazine Perspectives on History, 2022
History is Incomplete Without Black Women - From Ms. Magazine, 2023
Welfare Is a Woman's Issue - From Ms. Magazine, 1972 (republished 2021).
The Waves of Feminism, and Why People Keep Fighting Over Them, Explained - From Vox, 2018
Women’s Political Participation After 1920: Myth and Reality - From National Women's History Museum, 2020
Women's Sport History - From National Women's History Museum, 2016
Any Woman Who is now or May Hereafter be Married... - From Prologue Magazine, 1998
Feminism 101: What is Intersectional Feminism? - From the newsmagazine FEM, 2016

UCNJ Libraries' Databases to Find Videos

Digitalia Film Library (Latino American and North American Collection) This link opens in a new window
Digitalia Film Library offers a diverse selection of films and documentaries for Latino American Collection and North American Classic Cinema Collection.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming educational video resource. Subjects include: allied health, anthropology, archival films/newsreels, art/architecture, biology, business/economics, communication, counseling/social work, criminal justice, earth science, education, engineering, entertainment, environmental science, geography, health/medicine, history, mathematics, music/dance, philosophy/religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, technology, world languages. Many of the videos are close-captioned and/or have interactive transcripts.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium consists of thousands of streaming videos from a large number of producers and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.

UCNJ Libraries' Databases to Find Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times Newspaper online This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to the New York Times online and you can register for a digital subscription and add the NYT app.