Women's History: Primary Sources

• A Vindication of the Rights of Woman With Strictures on Political and Moral Subjects - A book by Mary Wollstonecraft,1891 - from the Internet Archive
• How it Feels to be the Husband of a Suffragette, by "Him", 1915. - A book from the Library of Congress National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection.
• Report of the Woman's Rights Convention held at Seneca Falls, New Hampshire, July 19th and 20th, 1848...
• "The text of this report is from the original tract produced after the Convention in the North Star Printing Office owned by Frederick Douglass, Rochester, New York. It was reprinted several times and circulated as a sales item at local and national women's rights conventions." from the National Parks Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
• The National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection - From the Library of Congress, Rare Books Division.  ~800 books and pamphlets documenting the suffrage campaign, between 1890-1938.

• Suffragist Oral Histories - Eight major figures in twentieth-century suffragist history are represented here with full-text oral histories
• Women of the Senate Oral History Project - Information women's impact on the institution and its legislative business, from The United States Senate
• Oral Histories of the Smithsonian - Oral Histories of a few women in science; part of the Smithsonian American Women's History Initiative
• Women Remember Suffrage - Four interviews from 2000 with women from who remember the suffrage movement: Mary Myers, Angela Fanto, Mildred Dunn, and Edna Mae Bucknam.

• Fourteenth Amendment - from the National Archives.  The fourteenth Amendment to the US Constitution extended liberties, that were granted by the Bill of Rights to all Americans, to formerly enslaved women and men, though it still did not exclusively grant women the right to vote.
• Nineteenth Amendment - from Library of Congress. The Nineteenth Amendment granted women the right to vote.  Importantly, not all women were granted this right...
  • "...While many women were able to head to the polls, the amendment did not give voting rights to all women. Women of color, immigrants, and lower income women were often deterred from voting by laws and social pressure. For example, Native American women were not considered US citizens until 1924 and were not permitted to vote. Women who were convicted of a crime were also unable to vote, even if they completed their sentence..." from the National Parks Service, Women's Rights National Historical Park, Seneca Falls New York
• The Voting Rights Act of 1965 - From the National Archives Foundation. The Senate approved the Voting Rights Act in 1965.  This act protected voting rights under the provisions of the Fifteenth and Nineteenth Amendments.
• Title IX of The Education Amendment - From the United States Government Publishing Office. In 1972 Congress passed Title IX in order to prohibit discrimination on sex/gender in education programs and activities that receive federal financial assistance.
• John R. Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act of 2021 - From Congress.gov.  John Lewis put forth this act "to amend the Voting Rights Act of 1965 to revise the criteria for determining which States and political subdivisions are subject to section 4 of the Act" 

Map of United States showing progress of equal suffrage, Circa 1912.  From the Women's Suffrage and Equal Rights Collection, Massachusetts Woman Suffrage Association; Ella Strong Denison Library; Claremont Colleges Digital Library.

The vote girl, 1972.  From the Women's Suffrage and Equal Rights Collection, Massachusettes Woman Suffrage Association; Ella Strong Denison Library; Claremont Colleges Digital Library.

Hilary Clinton gave her "Women's Rights are Human Rights" speech in 1995 at the United Nations Fourth World Conference in Beijing, China.

• "Speech to the Troops at Tilbury", Queen Elizabeth I, 1588, Essex, England.
• "The Destructive Male", 1868, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Washington, DC.
• "Is it a Crime to Vote?", 1872-73, Susan B. Anthony, Rochester, NY.
• "Freedom or Death", November 1913, Emmeline Pankhurst, Hartford, Connecticut.
• Address to the United States Congress, Carrie Chapman Catt, 1917, Washington, DC.
• "A Room of One's Own", Virginia Woolf, 1928 (published in 1929), Newnham College and Girton College, women's colleges at the University of Cambridge, England.
• "Address to National Council of Negro Women", Mary Church Terrell, May 1938, Newark, New Jersey.
• Address at First Baptist Church, October 1963, Marie Foster, Selma, Alabama.
• "Women's Rights are Human Rights", Hilary Clinton, 1995, United Nations Fourth World Conference, Beijing, China.
• Nobel Prize Awarded Women