Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Sign Language & Deaf Studies: Find Articles

This is a research guide for ASL.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can help you locate scholarly literature within the Union College Libraries print and electronic resources. 

Google Scholar settings--  type in Union College to link to our Library resources.

Once you link your settings to Union College, if you are not already logged in to your College account, you will be prompted to authenticate with the following format: 

  • For students:  firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu, your password. 
  • For faculty and staff:  username@ucc.edu, your password.

Google Scholar Search

Subject Headings for Finding Articles in Databases

Subject headings like these (what follows is just a selection) may yield the most valuable articles:

  • American Sign Language
  • Closed captioning
  • Cochlear implants
  • Community services--Deaf
  • Deaf--Biography
  • Deaf--Education--United States
  • Deaf--Government policy
  • Deaf--Legal status, laws, etc.--United States
  • Deaf--Literary collections
  • Deaf--Means of communication
  • Deaf--Services for
  • Deaf--Social conditions
  • Deaf--United States--Biography
  • Deaf--United States--History
  • Deaf--United States--Social Conditions
  • Deaf children
  • Deaf culture
  • Deafblind people
  • Deafness
  • Hearing imparied
  • Lipreading
  • Sign language--History
  • Sign language--Study and teaching
  • Social services--Deaf
  • Telecommunications devices for the deaf--History

ASL, Deaf Culture, Interpreting, and related articles

Go to the Union College Libraries database page to use the following EBSCO databases to find articles about Deaf culture and history, American Sign Language and other means of communication employed in Deaf communities, English Interpreting, and related information.

  • If you are not logged in to your College account, you will be prompted to do so.
  • The off-campus log-in has the following format:

        ** students-- firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu, your password. 

          ** faculty and staff--  username@ucc.edu, your password

The following databases are available off-campus as well as at all Union College locations.

Academic Search Premier-- Academic Search Premier provides citations and full text of nearly 3,200 scholarly publications on topics in the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Coverage: 1990 – present.

ERIC-- ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.

Ethnic NewsWatch-- Ethnic NewsWatch™ includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles.

GenderWatch-- This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

PsycARTICLES-- PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains over 150,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

SocINDEX with Full Text--  offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Additional Journals

The Communicator --  formerly Monthly Communicator, available online 2014- to present. From the New Jersey Dept. of Human Services, Division of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education --  via the publisher Web site, click on link for "Archives" to access articles from 01/01/1996 to 1 year ago.

Journal of Interpretation --  available online at the RID (Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf) Web site. There is also a small collection of back issues archived.

Odyssey: New Directions in Deaf Education --  online via publisher Web site, 2010 - present.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Elsa Bruguier
Contact:
Elsa Bruguier, M.L.S., M.A.
Union College Libraries
Plainfield Campus Librarian
232 East Second Street
Plainfield, NJ 07060

Email or call to make a research appointment.

bruguier@ucc.edu
908- 412-3569
UCC LibGuides at Union County College