Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Sign Language & Deaf Studies: Find Books & Videos

This is a research guide for ASL.

Find More Books on Topics of Your Choice

Subject headings like these (what follows is just a selection) are likely to lead to materials that will supplement your textbooks and other course materials.

  • American Sign Language
  • Closed captioning
  • Cochlear implants
  • Community services--Deaf
  • Deaf--Biography
  • Deaf--Education--United States
  • Deaf--Government policy
  • Deaf--Legal status, laws, etc.--United States
  • Deaf--Literary collections
  • Deaf--Means of communication
  • Deaf--Services for
  • Deaf--Social conditions
  • Deaf--United States--Biography
  • Deaf--United States--History
  • Deaf--United States--Social Conditions
  • Deaf children
  • Deaf culture
  • Deafblind people
  • Deafness
  • Hearing imparied
  • Lipreading
  • Sign language--History
  • Sign language--Study and teaching
  • Social services--Deaf
  • Telecommunications devices for the deaf--History

 

 

Streaming Video

Streaming ASL videos are available in our Films on Demand database--  access it through the Library homepage: https://libguides.ucc.edu 

Go to the page with the Films on Demand database link--  https://libguides.ucc.edu/az.php?a=f   then click the link.

From off campus, you will need to log-in with your full username and password, according to the formats below:

** students-- firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu and then your password.

** faculty and staff-- username@ucc.edu and then your password.

Once in the  Films on Demand database, type the words American Sign Language in the search box--  a list of videos accessible for viewing will be retrieved.

 

DVDs

Below are some of the DVDs available in the Libraries' collection--

American Sign Language Interpreter Training -- Cranford, Plainfield: DVD419.7 Ex77

American Sign Language Vocabulary Builder -- Cranford: DVD 419.7 Am35

Deaf Jam -- Plainfield: DVD 899.987 De34

Fingerspelled Names and Introductions -- Plainfield: DVD 419 Da233

Idioms and Phrases in American Sign Language -- Plainfield: DVD 371.912 Id4 (5 discs)

In the Land of the Deaf --  Plainfield: DVD 362.4 Ph551

Interpreting in Insurance Settings -- Plainfield: DVD 419.7 In8

Interview and Performance Practice-- Plainfield: DVD 418.02 RE263

It's Everybody's Music -- Plainfield: DVD 780.78 It6

Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God -- Cranford: DVD 261.8327 Va467

See What I Mean: Differences Between Deaf and Hearing Cultures --  Plainfield: DVD 305.9082 Ho697

Touch the Sound -- Elizabeth, Plainfield: DVD 786.8092 To589

Through Deaf Eyes --  Plainfield: DVD 362.4 HO797

William Shakespeare's Twelfth Night -- Plainfield DVD 822.33 Q7NO856

E-books From Our Collection

The Library system offers a rich collection of print books and e-books aligned with the curriculum. Read while on campus, online or download. With your Union College ID card, you may borrow all except Reserve and Reference items, which are used in-library.  While the majority of the collection in support of ASL, and Deaf Studies is at the Plainfield Campus Library-- you can request that materials be delivered to another campus library more convenient to you, and you can borrow the materials there.

Here is a sampling of e-book and print book titles that may interest you:

Print Books From Our Collection

Here is a sampling of print titles that may interest you:

UC LibGuides at Union County College