Primary Sources are materials that are original records or first-hand accounts of a topic or event in history. Some examples of primary sources include, letters, speeches, art, photographs, and interviews.
Check out UCNJ Libraries' Subject Guide on Primary Sources for more information!
Ancient and Medieval History (FOF) Database:
American History (FOF) Database:
Modern World History (FOF) Database:
Gaudi Ragini. (c. 1700–1725). [Gum tempera, ink, and gold on paper]. The Cleveland Museum of Art; Cleveland, Ohio, USA; Collection: Indian Art; Department: Indian and Southeast Asian Art; Gift of the American Foundation for the Maud E. and Warren H. Corning Botanical Collection. https://jstor.org/stable/community.24612181
Carl H. Pforzheimer Collection of Shelley and His Circle, The New York Public Library. (1822). Plato. Socrates. Epaminondas. Aristotle Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/780a42c4-d05f-6e4f-e040-e00a180648fc
All power to the people, BU. X.405. (Created: 1965-1975). Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Art and Artifacts Division. https://jstor.org/stable/community.31815950
Winthrop, James, 1752-1821. (1700?). Egyptian hieroglyphics, from public monuments extracted from Denon [Paper]. Allegheny College Library Special Collections. https://jstor.org/stable/community.23076147
Spencer Collection, The New York Public Library. (1801). Nishikizuri onna sanjûrokkasen = Color Prints of the Thirty-six Immortal Woman Poets. Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e0-ca4c-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
"The allied efforts, or political struggle" Prints, Drawings and Watercolors from the Anne S.K. Brown Military Collection, Napoleonic Satires. Brown Digital Repository. Brown University Library. https://repository.library.brown.edu/studio/item/bdr:232425/
Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. (1720). Pas-kaart vande Rivieren Commewini Suriname en Cupanama ... Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/b61f5f61-befc-a55d-e040-e00a180635d5
Female Figure. (ca. 1850–1750 B.C.). [Faience, paint]. In Statue of a Female Figure [08.200.18]. The Metropolitan Museum of Art. https://jstor.org/stable/community.18301642
Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. (1887). Carta dell' Egitto, Sudan, Mar Rosso, Assab, Massaua, Abissinia ecc. Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/5e66b3e8-b11f-d471-e040-e00a180654d7
Namibia Support Committee. (1989). Namibia independence now! Namibia Support Committee; National Archives of Namibia. https://jstor.org/stable/al.sff.document.poco0056a2
Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library. (1917 - 1921). Het' zlodiiv z shyrokoho shliakhu! Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47de-8394-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
"Castiliae Veteris et Novae descriptio: [general map]". (1606). Digital Library of Castilla y León. Retrieved from https://bibliotecadigital.jcyl.es/es/consulta/registro.do?id=11065
British Library: India Office Records and Private Papers. (1907). View of Bagdad from the roof of the Residency. Wilfrid Malleson [34r] (1/2), British Library: India Office Records and Private Papers. Qatar Digital Library. https://www.qdl.qa/en/archive/81055/vdc_100117294308.0x000044
General Research Division, The New York Public Library. (1895). Paheri and his wife. Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e2-8aaa-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
General Research Division, The New York Public Library. (1822). Drawings on stone found at Thebes, 1818. In the collection of the Earl of Belmore. Same size as the originals. Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e2-93bd-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Images, W. (2023, August 17). Galileo's Map of the Moon. World History Encyclopedia. Retrieved from https://www.worldhistory.org/image/17768/galileos-map-of-the-moon/
Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (900 - 999). Full-page portrait of Luke in gold frame on purple background Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47da-e299-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Photography Collection, The New York Public Library. (1883). Assemblage of the Statue of Liberty in Paris Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47de-0a32-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. (1912). A map of the foreign settlements at Shanghai. Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/ca6be7f0-50a0-0136-8fd8-29fdda254a1e
The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Art & Architecture Collection, The New York Public Library. (1780 - 1858). River festival procession of floating green barge with red temple, polers, musicians, aristocrats, attendants, and white temple in background Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/9f344530-8a8e-0131-bdfa-58d385a7bbd0
Prunes, M. (1559) Chart of the Mediterranean, Black Sea, and the coasts of western Europe and northwest Africa. In civitate Majorica: Mateus Prunes, anno. [Map] Retrieved from the Library of Congress, https://www.loc.gov/item/2014588812/.