LibGuides: World History: Periodicals & Videos

Library Databases to Find Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
African-American History (FOF) This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History explores the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.
American History (FOF) This link opens in a new window
American History spanning prehistory to the present day, was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. The database includes articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
History Research Center This link opens in a new window
A searchable platform of all the Library's Facts on File History databases: African-American, American, Ancient & Medieval, and Modern World.
Modern World History (FOF) This link opens in a new window
Modern World History considers world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Using thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos, slideshows, maps, graphs, primary sources, and timelines, it provides a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Diversity Studies prepares researchers for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Videos from the Films on Demand Library Database

The Library has access to many databases that contain videos to stream. Here is a selection of videos from the Films on Demand database:

Apocalypse: Never-Ending War
France Television Distribution (2018)
Greece: WorldQuest
Film Ideas (2004)
In Search of History: The Great Wall
History Education (1996)
The Mayan Empire: Introduction
555 Productions (2018)
Pearl Harbor: Survivors Remember
History Education (2017)
The Roman Empire
555 Productions (2018)

Videos from TED Ed

"TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, but today it spans a multitude of worldwide communities and initiatives exploring everything from science and business to education, arts and global issues. In addition to the hundreds of TED Talks curated from our annual conferences and published on TED.com, we produce original podcasts, short video series, animated TED-Ed lessons and TV programs that are translated into more than 100 languages and distributed via partnerships around the world" (ted.com, n.d.).

Library Databases to Find Videos

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium consists of thousands of streaming videos from a large number of producers and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming educational video resource. Subjects include: allied health, anthropology, archival films/newsreels, art/architecture, biology, business/economics, communication, counseling/social work, criminal justice, earth science, education, engineering, entertainment, environmental science, geography, health/medicine, history, mathematics, music/dance, philosophy/religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, technology, world languages. Many of the videos are close-captioned and/or have interactive transcripts.

Library Databases to Find Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times Newspaper online This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to the New York Times online and you can register for a digital subscription and add the NYT app.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides access to a large range of news articles including access to World News, Newark Star-ledger, Black Life in America, Hispanic Life in America, Asian Life in America and more.

Videos from the Academic Video Online: Premium Library Database

The Library has access to many databases that contain videos to stream. Here is a selection of videos from the Academic Video Online: Premium database:

PBS Crash Course World History
A collection of about 43 short videos by John Green that highlight significant points in world history (2012)
A History of Women's Suffrage Around the World
Encyclopedia Britannica (2016)
Of Kings and paintings
Homa Films (2019)
The Russian Revolution
Guidance Associates (1989)
Shield and Spear
Journeyman Pictures (2018)
The Storming of the Bastille
Makematic (2023)
The War of the World
BBC Worldwide (2012)
World: A Television History
A collection of 26 videos by Landmark Media about different times in world history (1985)
World War II: The War in the Pacific
Guidance Associates (1987)

World History: Periodicals & Videos