LibGuides: Accounting: Other Sources, by Type

Suggested Search Terms Related to Accounting

Suggested terms to use in a database search for accounting information include:

accounting

accruals

assets

balance sheet

breakeven

budgeting

capital budgeting

cash flow

cost-volume-profit analysis

decision making

deferrals

discounted present value

equity

expenses

financial analysis

financial forecasting

financial management

financial statements

income statement

internal rate of return

liabilities

liquidity

net present value

payback period

pro forma financial statements

profitability

revenue

solvency

statement of cash flows

time-value of money

Websites

Management & Accounting Web Home Page
A Comprehensive Site for Accounting Education, Research, and Practice. ""MAAW represents an ongoing project to systematically categorize management and accounting literature from the past 100+ years" - James R. Martin
The CPA Journals's Tags archive: New Jersey
10 Best Accounting Websites for Startups

When choosing a website to use in your research, it's important to find a credible source. Remember that the Internet is open to everyone and not every website is reliable. Just because a website appears at the top of a Google search doesn't make it reliable.

Here are criteria to consider when choosing a web source for your research:

Accuracy

Authority

Objectivity

Currency

Coverage

Audience

Explore NJCPA’s resources for staying informed.
New Jersey: Issues Watch Live
This video includes a message to students from Okorie Ramsey, CPA, 2023/24 chair of the AICPA.

Videos

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Search and find results for over 1,000 videos on accounting. Then narrow results down to about 50 videos within the past 5 years by using this database's filter tab.

Both Trade & Scholarly Publications via Databases

IMPORTANT! Notice that, in the Advanced Search screen of both ABI/Inform Complete database and Business Source Elite database, you can specify that the sources to be searched are trade journals - this is particularly helpful for busy business people. Be sure to use the limiters on the left side of the results page.

Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection
This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends. Coverage is 1971 to present.

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM is a core business research database. Its massive content set includes important full-text journals and sought-after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Journals from the Open Web

Journal of Accounting & Marketing

This is an open access journal. Search the journal using https://scholar.google.com/ and include, with your search terms, the following complete string to limit to this journal:: ISSN: 2168-9601

One Search for Everything (almost)

One Search
For articles, books and more - - - -

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can help you locate scholarly literature on the open internet. After your search, look on the right side of the results for "Union CC has it." Instead of clicking on the article title, select "Union CC has it" and you will be directed to the same source, but through our Library resources, instead of the Google Scholar platform.