Skip to Main Content
Collections, Timelines, and Images
- A Government website hosted by The Library of Congress. Includes Video and Audio, exhibits, and collections - BlackHistoryMonth.gov
- Black History: History and Timelines - From Infoplease.com, contains short biographies, famous quotes, famous firsts, and more
- 159 collections of content relating to Black History. Collections include: Black Inventors in History, Black Art History, and Black Superhereos - Smithsonian Learning Lab
African American and Black Fine Art Websites
- History.com - Black History Month collection - Covers the origins of Black History, photo galleries, and links to other Black History topics, such as "8 Black Inventors Who Made Daily Life Easier."
- National Gallery of Art - Information about the visual artists of the Harlem Renaissance, and their artistic responses to the Black identity, political empowerment, migration and displacement. A small selection of works is presented and availble as a PowerPoint download.
- Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) - An interactive webpage that takes an in-depth look at Jacob Lawrence's 1941 painting series, Migration Series, depicting the mass movement of African Americans from the South to the North.
- Representations of Blackness in Music of the United States (1830-1920) - From the Brown University Library. Search and view original sheet music online.
- Harlem History: Arts and Culture, from Columbia University - Video interviews and transcripts, oral history reports, and excerpts from written works.
UCNJ LibGuides at Union College
