LibGuides: Black History : Find Articles & Videos

Library Databases to Find Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
African-American History (FOF) This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History explores the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.
Black Life in America (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. 1704 to today, updated daily.
Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Diversity Studies prepares researchers for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
A resource for diversity and ethnic studies that includes journals, newspapers, primary sources, and other materials.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Podcasts/Interviews/Talks

"Formerly known as the AAS21 Podcast, acts as a conversation around the field of African American Studies and the Black experience in the 21st century. We focus on the political, economic, and cultural forces that shape our understanding of race within America" as per the Department of African American Studies, Princeton University.

Collected

"Collected is a project of the African American History Curatorial Collective at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History. Centering stories curated by the Collective’s members, this podcast offers compelling and accessible journeys through topics in African American history that are particularly relevant today." (as per website).

Historically Black

Objects hold history and Historically Black uses personal objects submitted by listeners to explore Black History and bring those stories to life. It is a "people's museum" of personal objects such as an object, photograph, an instrument or more with rich histories of lived experience of black history. The podcasts are part of the Washington's Post's coverage of the Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History and Culture.

Left of Black

"Left of Black is a weekly video podcast hosted by Duke University Professor Mark Anthony Neal and produced by the John Hope Franklin Humanities Institute at Duke University" (as per website).

TMI Project

"The TMI Project Story Hour, features stories from more than a decade of live performances, profiling the brave souls who stepped on stage and shared the stories they were most afraid to tell. In the podcast, we take a deeper dive, and share the stories behind the secrets, and what happened next." (per site).

Witness Black History (BBC)

Listen to and download Black history podcasts featuring interviews with people close to key moments in Black and civil rights history.

Library Databases to Find Videos

Academic Video Online: Premium

Academic Video Online: Premium consists of thousands of streaming videos from a large number of produces and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.
Films On Demand

Streaming educational videos, with our collection covering Philosophy, Religion, Politics, and Psychology. The full length videos are segmented into useable clips, and may be shared, saved, organized, or embedded in course content management systems. Many of the videos are close-captioned and/or have interactive transcripts. Citations are available in Chicago, MLA, and APA styles.