Black History : Primary Sources

• 1724 - Louisiana's Code Noir
• 1775 - Lord Dunmore's Proclamation
• 1783 - The Book of Negros
• 1791 - Benjamin Banneker's Letter to Thomas Jefferson
• 1793 - Fugitive Slave Act

More primary documents and information about the works from blackpast.org

• "The Ballot or the Bullet" Speech, Malcolm X, 1964
• "Black Girl, Shouting", James Baldwin, 1942
• Brown v. Board of Education, U.S. Supreme Court, 1954
• Emancipation Proclamation, Abraham Lincoln, 1863
• "I Have a Dream" Address, Martin Luther King, Junior, 1963
• "A'n't I a Woman?" Speech, Sojourner Truth, 1851

• 40th Anniversary Statement on Loving v. Virginia, 2007
• A Proclamation on Day Of Remembrance: 100 Years After The 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre, 2021
• Act to Prohibit the Importation of Slaves into any Port or Place Within the Jurisdiction of the United States, 1808
• Alabama "Black Codes", 1865
• "A Black Feminist Statement", 1977

• Digital Library on American Slavery (DLAS) - From the National Council on Public History. Headquartered at Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis, IN.  Tens of thousands of public records of North Carolina Runaway Slave Notices (1750-1865), Race and Slavery Petitions, and Slave Deeds from the 15 slave states, Washington, D.C., and a number of northern states.  The DLAS houses information about over 100,000 enslaved people, enslavers, free people of color, and more.  "DLAS strives to be a documentation project, not an interpretive effort."

• Abraham Lincoln papers
• Frederick Douglas papers 
• Mary Church Terrell papers 
• Rosa Parks papers
• Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed Peoples Tell Their Stories (Audio Collection)
• African American History Digital Collection

• Discrimination in Public Places and the Civil Rights Laws of New Jersey: Fourth Annual Report, 1946
• The Negro in New Jersey : a report of a survey by the Interracial Committee of the New Jersey Conference of Social Work in cooperation with the State Department of Institutions and Agencies, 1932
• Blacks in the Revolutionary Era, 1975
• Afro-Americans in New Jersey: a short history, 1989

• Blacks in the Revolutionary Era, 1975

• Afro-Americans in New Jersey: a short history, 1989

• Freedom's Journal Online Archive - The first U.S. African American owned newspaper.  Full text coverage for this newspaper is provided by The Wisconsin Historical Society.  The collection contains every issue of the paper, from March 1827 - March 1829.
• The Broad Ax - A weekly newspaper from Chicago, Illinois.  Full text coverage is provided by the Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections from the Illinois University Library.  The collection contains issues from August 1895 - September 1927.