LibGuides: Historic USA Newspapers: From the UCNJ Libraries

About

The UCNJ Libraries have full-text access to many historic and current newspapers. Utilizing library resources can cut down on your research process in that you do not have to evaluate items for credibility or misinformation. You can find newspaper resources through the UCNJ Libraries catalog, eJournal platforms, and databases.

Pathways to Newspapers from the UCNJ Libraries

There are three ways to find periodicals from the UCNJ Libraries' collection! From the library homepage:

1. Do a basic catalog search from the middle search bar (or below here)

2. Select eJournals, under "Quick Links", on the left hand side. Here, you can limit your periodical publications by discipline, and then you will find an A-Z list of publications. If you know the name of the publication, or have keywords ready, you can continue to utilize the search bar from this page as well.

3. Select databases, under "Quick Links", on the left hand side. Here, you can limit your database by subject. Make sure to read the description under the link before selecting a database

Newspaper Databases from UCNJ Libraries

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times Newspaper online This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to the New York Times online and you can register for a digital subscription and add the NYT app.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides access to a large range of news articles including the Star Ledger (Newark, NJ) text from 1989 to the present.

ISSN

An ISSN is an International Standard Serial Number. You can use this 8-digit code to identify newspapers (as well as magazines, journals, and periodicals in digital format). You can find ISSNs in the top right corner of the cover of a periodical. If it is not located there, check the copyright/editorial page. This is where the editorial information is presented: publisher, year, frequency, etc.

Don't know the ISSN of the newspaper you are looking for? Use the ISSN Portal - The Global Index for Continuing Sources.

Newspaper Images from the UCNJ Libraries' JSTOR Database

Citations

Manhattanville College. (April 9, 1948). The Centurion Student Newspaper. https://jstor.org/stable/community.26666830

New York Herald Tribune (Firm), & New York Herald Tribune (Firm). (1953-06-20). Rosenbergs Are Executed. Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and Archives, Martin P. Catherwood Library, Cornell University; International Workers Order (IWO) Records, 1915-2002 (KCL05276). https://jstor.org/stable/community.21072835

New York Post, & New York Post. (1952-12-01). Spies and Speech. Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and Archives, Martin P. Catherwood Library, Cornell University; International Workers Order (IWO) Records, 1915-2002 (KCL05276). https://jstor.org/stable/community.21072828

Pacific Citizen. (1942-09-03). Newspaper including an article on the situation at Park College and Parkville. [News Paper]. In 1942. Park University. https://jstor.org/stable/community.33018915

The Rambler. (1952 May 16). Sedwick Kistler Dies in Lock Haven. https://jstor.org/stable/community.13456991

University of Akron. Archival Services, & Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company. (1948-10-21). Beacon - Homecoming (2421) [Acetate negatives]. https://jstor.org/stable/community.35300336

Vietnam War Moratorium “Work for Peace” - October 15. (10/9/1969). https://jstor.org/stable/community.21582756

Williams, Hanson A., Jr., 1928-2009. (1952). Photograph of two newspaper front pages regarding false cease fire in Korean War. https://jstor.org/stable/community.31610758