Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Resources at Union College: Federal (United States)

Find Articles

To find articles, search the Union College Libraries Databases.

Please note: If you are not logged in to your College account, you will be prompted to do so. Off-campus log-in has the following format: 

  • For students:  firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu, your password. 
  • For faculty and staff:  username@ucc.edu, your password.

When you are off-campus, your username is your full Union College email address (jane.doe@owl.ucc.edu). The password will be the same one you use on campus.

Particularly useful databases for government information are listed below.

Reference Books

Websites

Census Bureau --  "...The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

Congress.gov --  is the official Web site for U.S. Federal legislative information. It supersedes the THOMAS system.

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) -- Find crime statistics and publications such as the Uniform Crime Report.

Federal Depository Library Program and a directory of locations of Federal Depository Libraries throughout the United States.

govinfo -- is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. It replaces FDsys.

Library of Congress -- Search the catalogs and databases of the world's largest library and discover its rich collections of books, recordings, serials and special materials.

National Archives and Records Administration -- "...The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever..."

National Technical Information Service -- "...The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) helps federal agencies make better decisions about data, with data...."

The White House -- the home page of the United States President, his Administration, actions, communications.

United States Federal Courts -- contains Federal Court records, statistics and the Federal Judges Biographical Database.

United States Government Manual -- is the "official handbook" of the Federal Government.

United States Government Publishing Office (GPO)

United States House of Representatives -- House legislative activity with live Webcasts and podcasts.

United States Senate -- Senate legislative activity and statistical information on Senators.

United States Supreme Court -- Supreme Court documents, Court information and The Journal of the Supreme Court of the United States.

USA.gov -- an online guide to government information and services.

UC LibGuides at Union County College