Primary Sources: Primary Sources by Area

American Revolution, 1763-1783: New Jersey
From the New Jersey State Library

Digital Jerseyana Collection
The New Jersey State Library’s digital collections has images, books and postcards about the state of New Jersey from pre-colonial times to current issues about school funding and taxation.

Kean University NJ History Project
This collection consistsofmostly full view (and some limited view) non-fiction books and novels that represent the broad and rich history of New Jersey in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Library of Congress Resources for New Jersey
This collection at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across New Jersey.

Newark Public Library Digital Repository

___________________________________________________________________________

The Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906 
This collection contains forty-five films of New York dating from 1898 to 1906 from the Paper Print Collection of the Library of Congress.

New York Historical Society
Includes collections of photographs of New York City, manuscripts, maps, and broadsides from the Revolutionary War era, manuscripts relating to slavery and African American history, Civil War materials, and other historical resources.

NYPL Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online 
30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.

Selected Digital Historical Documents
From the Collections of the New York State Library

American Memory - Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Primary source and archival materials covering topics such as art and architecture, performing arts, technology and applied sciences.

Digital Public Library of America
Digitized materials searchable by timeline, format, or topic from America's libraries, archives, and museums.

Docs Teach
This collection of over 3,000 primary documents is organized by historical era, from the nation’s founding to the present. Documents, including maps, charts, graphs, audio, and video, have been selected by National Archives Staff, and are photographic reproductions of historical sources.

Gilder Lehrman Collection
Primary documents about American History.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, from Fordham University

Landmark Documents Organized by Era
Provided by the Digital History website created by  Mintz, S., & McNeil, S.

Making of America (Cornell University)
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Making of America (University of Michigan)
A thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction located at the University of Michigan.

Many Pasts
This feature of George Mason University’s History Matters project features prepared and selected primary documents in text, image, and audio about the experiences of ordinary Americans throughout U.S. history. The “full search” feature on the site allows users to choose resources by historical period, topic, type of resource, etc.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Access to US Federal records and documents that capture the sweep of the past, including slave ship manifests, journals of polar expeditions, and photographs of Dust Bowl farmers.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's collections, including historical maps, vintage posters, photographs, and more. 

Primary Source Set
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets explore topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. From libraries, archives, and museums, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.