LibGuides: Primary Sources: Primary Sources in Sciences, Allied Sciences & Applied Sciences

Overview

Primary sources in sciences, allied sciences and applied sciences are predominantly reports of original, quantitative research and controlled experiments. The reports are typically found in scholarly articles.

First Step: Our Library Databases!

Relevant scholarly articles in the sciences may be found using our library databases. To select a database, there is a filter (look for the drop-down arrow) for relevant subject areas such as:

Computers & Technology

ESL & Languages

Health

Science & STEM

Speech & Communication

If in a hurry or in doubt, try Academic Search Premier database - known as the "Swiss Army knife" of academic research - - - it covers everything!

NOTE: Many databases let you limit to scholarly (or peer reviewed) articles. Some databases only have scholarly articles.

Resources for Primary Sources in Science

Biodiversity Heritage Library
Headquartered at the Smithsonian Libraries and Archives in Washington, D.C., BHL operates as a worldwide consortium of natural history, botanical, research, and national libraries working together digitize the natural history literature held in their collections and making it freely available for open access as part of a global “biodiversity community.”
National Library of Medicine Historical Collections
Among various collections, is a collection which holds over 580 incunabula titles on subjects relating to science and medicine, from printed classical works of Galen and Hippocrates to materials on the plague and other "pestilences." The word incunabula comes from the Latin word cuna (cradle) and refers to books printed during the infancy of printing, which dates from the invention of moveable type (c. 1455) until 1500. Also included in NLM’s incunabula collection are undated works previously believed to have been printed prior to 1501, but subsequently dated by scholars to the 16th century.
Thomas Jefferson to House of Representatives, July 4, 1790, Report on Plan for Establishing a Uniform Currency, with Draft Copy
The House of Representatives had asked Jefferson, the Secretary of State under George Washington, to submit a report on establishing a standardized system of weights and measures for the new nation.
The World Clock - Worldwide
Find current time, weather, sun, moon, and much more...
Code of Ethics of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
Effective March 1, 2023
ArXiv
Open Access archive of papers in Physics, Math, CS, and related topics.
The IHP Interview: Lauryn Zipse on Melodic Intonation Therapy
Lauryn Zipse, PhD, CCC-SLP, an Associate Professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders in the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences at the MGH Institute
Example of a dissertation, in relation to practical nursing
Crawford-Dickinson, P. (2018). The Impact of Pre-entry Pathways on Academic Outcomes for Students Enrolled in a Practical Nursing Program. Available from Nursing & Allied Health Collection database. Another database, with scientific coverage, is OpenDissertations. Both are accessible via the UCNJ Libraries' list of DATABASES, linked at the upper left corner "Quick Links" on our homepage.