LibGuides: Primary Sources: Primary Sources in Humanities

Overview

Primary sources in humanities are predominantly original, first-hand accounts or creative works that offer evidence of a specific time, place, or person, or literature with qualitative analysis and interpretation. A literature review is an example, typically found in scholarly articles.

First Step: Our Library Databases!

Both scholarly and non-scholarly articles in the humanities may be found using our library databases. To select a database, there is a filter (look for the drop-down arrow) for relevant subject areas such as:

Art, Architecture and Music

Biographies

History

Literature & Book Reviews

Newspapers

Philosophy & Religion

If in a hurry or in doubt, try Academic Search Premier database- known as the "Swiss Army knife" of academic research - - - it covers everything!

NOTE: Many databases let you limit to scholarly (or peer reviewed) articles. Some databases only have scholarly articles.

Examples of Primary Sources in Humanities

UCNJ Historic Tree Grove
"The Historic Tree Grove located near the Sperry Observatory on the Cranford Campus is part of a long-term Historic Tree Project at UCNJ. Each of the trees is a seed or cutting- grown offspring of a tree noteworthy in American history. They were transplanted into the Grove beginning in 1997 from a nursery established on Campus near the Kellogg Greenhouse in 1995. For us and for future generations these trees will serve as reminders of significant individuals and events in our country’s history."
The Holy Bible : Old and New Testaments, King James Version.
This is the preferred version of the Bible in the U.S. as of 2017.
https://www.statista.com/statistics/299402/preferred-bible-version-usa/
Who Wrote the King James Bible?
The king appointed fifty-four of England’s leading Hebrew and Greek scholars to do the translation; of those, only forty-seven are credited with working on it . . . When they finished a segment, they sent it around for peer review. Other scholars weighed in, offering their own suggestions. In the end, they chose the best of the best. Source: https://www.thomasnelsonbibles.com/blog/kjv-how-47-scholars-created-a-biblical-masterpiece/
The life of Henry V / by William Shakespeare.
This is an historical drama.about Henry V, King of England, 1387-1422. The print copy is at the Elizabeth Campus Library at call number 822.33 W3M.

Primary Sources: Primary Sources in Humanities

Overview

First Step: Our Library Databases!

Examples of Primary Sources in Humanities

Resources for Primary Sources in Humanities