Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Therapist Assistant: Find Articles

Journals in the Library

Get to know the following journals (one trade magazine) which are core in your field. They may be in the databases, but are also on the shelf, in the Plainfield Campus Library:

  • APTA Magazine (formerly PT in Motion)
  • Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (some content available as open access here)
  • Journal of Allied Health
  • Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy
  • Pediatric Physical Therapy
  • Physical Therapy: Journal of the American Physical Therapy Association

COVID 19: How Should the Rehabilitation Community Prepare

How Should the Rehabilitation Community Prepare for 2019-n-CoV? --  this is a PDF of a journal pre-proof and not the definitive record of this article, published in its final form. It is made available to give early visibility of the article. In the review process, "...errors may be discovered which could affect content and all legal disclaimers that apply to the journal pertain."  Koh, GC-H., Hoenig, H. (2020). How Should the Rehabilitation Community Prepare for 2019-n-CoV? Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.apmr.2020.03.003

 

Physical Therapy Articles: From the Library's Subscription Databases

 

Start your search with the following databases to find articles about physical therapy and related topics. 

You need to be logged into the College network to access these resources. If you are not logged in you will be prompted to do so. To access library databases from off campus, student log-in uses firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu and your password. All faculty and staff must log-in with the username@ucc.edu and password. All of the databases listed below may be accessed from off-campus. 

Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences

Primary, Secondary, Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences--  a solid overview of these three categories of source information, developed by the University of Minnesota Health Sciences Library, and used with permission.

Free Articles

Advance for Physical Therapy and Rehab Medicine --  This trade publication is written by PTs for PTs, PTAs, and others in the rehabilitation profession. It provides clinical information, news items, job listings, and more.

Free Database

PEDro --  based in Australia, PEDro is the free Physiotherapy Evidence Database.  According to its Web site, PEDro contains "...49,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions...."  Union County College PTA students:  you are expected to use USA information sources in your research.  Consult with your professor if you find an international source you are interested in using.

Virtual tour of the new PEDro Web site.

Fraud and Mistakes in Scholarly Literature

Retraction Watch --  Be aware, be informed.  Minor mistakes such as typos or wrong addresses can happen in scholarly literature. These can be corrected by issuing an erratum notice to point out the errors.  But sometimes, an entire article has to be recalled because the mistakes are serious. This act of recalling the article is called retraction, and it's not often well publicized, even though consequences of flawed research can be devastating. Here's a blog that serves as a "...an informal repository for the retractions" found by the blog's two author's (Adam Marcus, and Ivan Oransky).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can help you locate scholarly literature within the Union County College Libraries print and electronic resources. 

Google Scholar Search
UCC LibGuides at Union County College