Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Therapist Assistant: Find Articles

Journals in the Library

Get to know the following journals (one trade magazine) which are core in your field. They may be in the databases or on the shelf, in the Plainfield Campus Library:

  • APTA Magazine (formerly PT in Motion)
  • Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (some content available as open access here)
  • Journal of Allied Health
  • Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy
  • Pediatric Physical Therapy
  • Physical Therapy: Journal of the American Physical Therapy Association

Physical Therapy Articles: From the Library's Subscription Databases

Start your search with the following databases to find articles about physical therapy and related topics.  You will find them on the Health Databases page.

You need to be logged into the College network to access these resources. If you are not logged in you will be prompted to do so.

To access library databases from off campus, the format is as follows:

Student log-in-- firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu and your password

Faculty and staff log-in-- username@ucc.edu and your password

All of the databases listed below may be accessed from off-campus. 

Alt HealthWatch--  This database contains articles on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, with nearly 50,000 articles from over 160 international, peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Coverage: 1990 to the present (from vendor description).

CINAHL Complete--  Vendor description: This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection Comprehensive--  Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL. (from vendor description).

Nursing and Allied Health Premium--  ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source makes it easy to find reliable healthcare information. This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences (from vendor description).

CINAHL Database: Basic Search Tutorial

Rehabilitation Reference Center Database: Tutorial

Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences

Primary, Secondary, Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences--  a solid overview of these three categories of source information, developed by the University of Minnesota Health Sciences Library, and used with permission.

Free Databases

PEDro --  based in Australia, PEDro is the free Physiotherapy Evidence Database.  According to its Web site, PEDro contains "...49,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions...."  Union College PTA students:  you are expected to use USA information sources in your research.  Consult with your professor if you find an international source you are interested in using.

Virtual tour of the new PEDro Web site.

Fraud and Mistakes in Scholarly Literature

Retraction Watch --  Be aware, be informed.  Minor mistakes such as typos or wrong addresses can happen in scholarly literature. These can be corrected by issuing an erratum notice to point out the errors.  But sometimes, an entire article has to be recalled because the mistakes are serious. This act of recalling the article is called retraction, and it's not often well publicized, even though consequences of flawed research can be devastating. Here's a blog that serves as a "...an informal repository for the retractions" found by the blog's two author's (Adam Marcus, and Ivan Oransky).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can help you locate scholarly literature within the Union College Libraries print and electronic resources. 

Google Scholar Search
UC LibGuides at Union County College