Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature Resources: Library Resources

Literature Resources at Union College Libraries

Finding Articles in the Library Databases

Literature Resource Center (GALE)

"This database contains biographical articles of notable authors covering all time periods from antiquity to the present.   Coverage is most complete for American and current authors writing in English.   The LRC also contains literature criticism reprinted from books and journals, and provides selected Web sites on authors.    Much of this information is also found in the Gale Literature Criticism volumes available in Reference (Cranford campus); the print sources in Reference may contain additional information not included in the databases."

 

Literature Criticism Online (GALE)

"This database augments the Gale Literature Criticism series.  It contains biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world."

 

Literature Reference Center

"This database combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. It contains overviews, book reviews, criticism and more." 

JSTOR  

"Back runs of 269 titles, with subject areas including: economics; history; political science; sociology; music; film studies; folklore; performing arts; religion; the history and study of art and architecture; ecology; mathematics; and statistics."

 

Contemporary Authors

".... biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. "

 

NoveList

"Search for works of fiction by subject, keyword, title, author, and other criteria. "

 

Finding Literary Criticism in Reference Books

In Union College Libraries, there are comprehensive and complete resources for almost all literature topics in the Cranford Reference Book collection. 

Browse the Reference books (REF 800-899) or below are some source suggestions:

  • Literature Criticism 1400-1800  (REF 809.03 LI712)
  • Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (REF 809.03 NI622)
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (REF 808.04 TW918)
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (REF 809.04 CO767)
  • Shakespearean Criticism  ( REF 822.33 DSH ) 
  • Short Story Criticism (REF 809.31 Sh81)
  • Poetry Criticism (REF 809.1005 PO752)
  • Black Literature Criticism (REF 809.889 BL561)
  • Hispanic Literature Criticism (REF 860.9 HI625)

Videos

UCC LibGuides at Union County College