LibGuides: Evaluating Periodicals: News and Commentary

About

News and commentary periodicals are usually issued daily or weekly, and contain current news and editorials. Daily periodicals may offer more immediate information like the weather, movie times, and "breaking news." Many news periodicals also have websites. These sites usually duplicate the articles from the print periodical in addition to online only content. Some periodicals do not offer both options, but most news sources do.

A new periodical can be used for an academic assignment when writing about recent developments in a given story or issue, world and local news, and opinion and letter-to-the-editor articles. There are no bibliographies in news periodicals, but sources may be credited throughout the narrative of the article. News periodicals utilize editors, but are not peer-reviewed; they may be fact-checked and corrected, post-publication. Historical news periodicals can be great resources to use for "eye-witness" accounts and other primary sources.

Databases from the UCNJ Libraries

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
New York Times Newspaper online This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to the New York Times online and you can register for a digital subscription and add the NYT app.
New York Times In Education This link opens in a new window
First time users must REGISTER with their UCNJ email address. The sites include "Lesson plans; News and geography quizzes; Student opinion questions; Picture prompts and graph prompts; Current events conversations; Writing curriculum."

Anatomy of a Newspaper

Videos from the UCNJ Libraries Films on Demand Database

Historic Newspaper Images from the UCNJ Libraries JSTOR Database

News Periodicals from the UCNJ Libraries

Wall Street Journal - UCNJ Libraries have full text coverage for this journal from January 2010- present
The Philadelphia Inquirer - UCNJ Libraries have full text coverage for this journal from January 1994- present
The Denver Post - UCNJ Libraries have full text coverage for this journal from January 2020- present
The Washington Post - UCNJ Libraries have full text coverage for this journal from February 2003- present
Bloomberg Businessweek - UCNJ Libraries have full text coverage for this journal from April 2010- present
Los Angeles Times - UCNJ Libraries have full text coverage for this journal from February 2002- present
Chicago Tribute - UCNJ Libraries have full text coverage for this journal from February 2013- present
The Seattle Times - UCNJ Libraries have full text coverage for this journal from August 1997- present

Citations

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. Department of Community Relations, & B’nai B’rith Messenger. (1929). B’nai B’rith Messenger front page, 1929. Cedars-Sinai Medical Library Conservancy. https://jstor.org/stable/community.35191564

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. Department of Community Relations, & Los Angeles Times. (1918). Los Angeles Times front page, 1918. Cedars-Sinai Medical Library Conservancy. https://jstor.org/stable/community.35191554

The Bird that Crows for Cleveland! (1892). [Wood engraving (process); Newsprint]. Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library; Susan H. Douglas Political Americana Collection. https://jstor.org/stable/community.10637290

Front page of the Citizen News newspaper. (n.d.). https://jstor.org/stable/community.33074444

Goldberg, Abraham, 1883-1942, Goldberg, B. Z. (Ben Zion), 1895-, Tsukerman, V., גאָלדבערג, אב, גאָלדבערג, ב. צ, צוקערמאַן, וו, & Jewish Council for Russian War Relief. (1942-06). For Soviet Russia. Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and Archives, Martin P. Catherwood Library, Cornell University; International Workers Order (IWO) Records, 1915-2002 (KCL05276). https://jstor.org/stable/community.19043046