Countries & Cultures: Databases for Countries & Cultures

Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History explores the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.

Free online language learning tool (on the web and via app) that includes games and tokens to motivate language skills. Users need to log in to create an account and track their progress.

A resource for diversity and ethnic studies that includes journals, newspapers, primary sources, and other materials.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Gale Power Search is a platform that links and searches the following subscription Gale resources simultaneously- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints, Gale eBooks, Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine.

A searchable platform of all the Library's Facts on File History databases: African-American, American, Ancient & Medieval, and Modern World.

Modern World History considers world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Using thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos, slideshows, maps, graphs, primary sources, and timelines, it provides a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.