Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Respiratory Care: Find Articles

Journals in the Library

Get to know the following journals (one trade magazine) which are core in your field. Look for them in the databases, and/or on the shelf in the Plainfield Campus Library:

  • AARC Times
  • American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine: An Official Journal of the American Thoracic Society, Medical Section of the American Lung Association
  • CHEST
  • JAMA
  • New England Journal of Medicine
  • Respiratory Care

Respiratory Care Articles: From the Library's Subscription Databases

Click here to get to the health and medical databases page where you can start your research with articles about respiratory care and related topics. 

To access library databases from off campus, log in using the following format:

**students: firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu and your password 

**faculty and staff: username@ucc.edu and your password

All of the databases listed below may be accessed from off-campus. 

Alt HealthWatch --  This database contains articles on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, with nearly 50,000 articles from over 160 international, peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Coverage: 1990 to the present. (From vendor description.)

Biomedical Reference Comprehensive -- Vendor description: Designed for... students, clinical specialists, and managers, this database provides nearly 900 full text journals including nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications covering virtually all areas of medical study.

CINAHL Complete --  Vendor description: This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.

CINAHL Basic Searching Tutorial -- 3- minute video

Medline --  Created by the National Library of Medicine, this database includes citations to over 5,400 biomedical journals.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection Comprehensive -- Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL. (From vendor description.)

Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Premium -- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium makes it easy to find reliable healthcare information. This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, videos and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences. (from vendor description)

Science Direct --  Vendor description-- Keep up to date with health and medical developments to stimulate research and improve patient care. Search our books and journals covering education, reference information, decision support and more.

Database Video Tutorial

CINAHL Basic Searching Tutorial

Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences

Primary, Secondary, Tertiary Sources in the Health Sciences--  a solid overview of these three categories of source information, developed by the University of Minnesota Health Sciences Library, and used with permission.

Fraud and Mistakes in Scholarly Literature

Retraction Watch --  Be aware, be informed.  Minor mistakes such as typos or wrong addresses can happen in scholarly literature. These can be corrected by issuing an erratum notice to point out the errors.  But sometimes, an entire article has to be recalled because the mistakes are serious. This act of recalling the article is called retraction, and it's not often well publicized, even though consequences of flawed research can be devastating. Here's a blog that serves as a "...an informal repository for the retractions" found by the blog's two author's (Adam Marcus, and Ivan Oransky).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can help you locate scholarly literature within the Union College Libraries print and electronic resources. 

Google Scholar settings--  type in Union College to link to our Library resources.

Once you link your settings to Union College, if you are not already logged in to your College account, you will be prompted to authenticate with the following format: 

  • For students:  firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu, your password. 
  • For faculty and staff:  username@ucc.edu, your password.

Google Scholar Search
UC LibGuides at Union County College