LibGuides: Financial Literacy: Online Resources

Disclaimer

Use caution when using these online resources.

Online resources may contain bias and unreliable information. Exercise caution and evaluate content before making decisions. Be mindful of privacy and security risks and never provide sensitive information to untrusted sources. Before making any financial and investment decisions, consult with a financial advisor.

Underneath the listed online resources (when available) you can find a link to the written disclaimers provided by the site.

Finance News Sites

Finance Newsletters

Online resources

Government Resources:

CFPB Financial Terms Glossary
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) glossary of financial terms listed in alphabetical order.
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Provides answers to common financial questions. Topics include paying for college, mortgages, and credit. Includes specialized sections for students, older Americans, and service members and veterans.
Department of Defense - Office of Financial Readiness
An online resource created by the Department of Defense for military service members and family. This site offers resources on managing money, saving, investing, and planning for the future.
Federal Trade Commission Consumer Advice
A resource that works to educate and prevent scams and other fraudulent activity through educational resources and tips.
Investor.gov
An online guide to researching investments and tips to avoid fraud from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
MyMoney.gov
An official site of the US Government Financial Literacy and Education Commission that provides news and important information for all age ranges. Additionally, this site includes guides to help make the best financial choices during major life events.
New Jersey Financial Literacy
An all-encompassing recourse for New Jersey residents that provides free access to resources to promote financial literacy and wellness. After creating a free account and taking a short assessment, the site provides recommended courses and resources to help fit your needs.

Other Educational Resources:

360 Degrees of Financial Literacy
A program created by the American Institute of CPAs to help understand personal finances through every stage of life.
Annuity
A site that details what it means to be financially literate, how to manage money, and budgeting. A great place to start to get more information on financial literacy and where to start and the importance of learning more.

Caution. Before accessing this resource, find out more on how partnerships and advertisements may affect the content and advice this site provides. To read the disclaimers, click here.

Bankrate - Personal Finance
A site that offers information on important topics regarding personal finance. There are lists for the best savings and checking accounts, as well as CD rates to assist on decision making.

Caution. Before accessing this resource, find out more on how partnerships and advertisements may affect the content and advice they provide. To read the disclaimers, click here.

Investopedia - Financial Literacy
Provides answers to commonly asked questions, offers information on budgeting, saving, and other educational resources.

Caution. Before accessing this resource, find out more on how partnerships and advertisements may affect the content and advice they provide. To read the disclaimers, click here.

Khan Academy - Financial Literacy Course
An open access course on Khan Academy that covers the basics of financial literacy.