CST-100 Intro to Computer Applications (3 Credits)
This course introduces students to basic computer concepts. The course also focuses on a current version of Microsoft Office Professional. Students experience hands-on instruction in word processing, spreadsheets, databases, and professional presentations. This course prepares students to succeed in both college and the business world by enabling them to write reports, analyze and chart data, and prepare presentations.
CST-101 Intro Information System (3 Credits)
This course is an introduction to the many facets of computer information systems. The course provides an understanding of system concepts, information technology, and application software. It also introduces students to how information is used in organizations and how information technology enables improvement in quality and timeliness of information. It gives students the characteristics of professionals and of possible career paths. Topics include ethical and societal issues, organizing data and information, telecommunications and networks, e-commerce, and management information systems. The course supports the concept of problem solving with computers via applications and the Internet.
CST-111 Integrating Tech in Curriculum (3 Credits)
This course provides students with an in-depth knowledge of how to integrate technology into educational environments. Topics include the Internet, introduction to productivity software applications for educators, hardware, analysis of technology, integrating multimedia and education software applications, using digital equipment in the classroom, and creating curriculum pages.
CST-115 Intro to Computer Programming (3 Credits)
This course is an introduction to computers and programming. Topics include components of the computer system, problem solving techniques, processing data, manipulating files, creating mathematical functions, controlling processes using an industry standard programming language.
CST-120 The Internet (3 Credits)
This course explores the Internet. Topics include conceptual background and online skills needed to become Internet literate, survey of emerging technologies on the Internet, ethics and etiquette of the Web, network protocols, basic UNIX commands, creating web pages, and using the Web to locate, transfer, and publish information.
CST-122 Web Application Development (3 Credits)
CST-130 Visual Basic Programming (4 Credits)
In this course, students will build computing applications using Visual Basic, an object-oriented, event-driven programming language. Topics include graphical user interface design and implementation, file input and output (I/O), forms, menu bars, buttons, dialog and list boxes, array of controls, methods (subroutines), debugging techniques, and error-handling routines.
CST-135 Linux Fundamentals (3 Credits)
This course provides an introduction to the Linux operating system and its applicability to digital forensics. Topics include Linux scripting, installation, configuration, boot loaders, mounting drives, and images, process control, user and group administration, file system administration and management, as well as setting up a secure Linux login environment.
CST-140 Intro to iOS Development (3 Credits)
This course introduces students to the fundamentals of iOS application development using the Swift programming language and the Apple toolset. Using iOS as the platform, students will explore Apple developer tools, such as Xcode, instruments, debugger, analyzer, and iOS simulator. Topics include app functionality, iOS API features, as well as building an original iOS app from conception to completion. Access to an Apple Mac computer is required.
CST-141 App Development I (3 Credits)
This course introduces the fundamental concepts of structured programming and provides a comprehensive introduction to programming for computer science and technology majors. Topics include software development methodology, data types, control structures, functions, arrays, and the mechanics of running, testing, and debugging. This is the first of a two-course sequence designed to teach programming in Swift.
CST-142 App Development II (3 Credits)
This course introduces the fundamental concepts of structured programming and provides a comprehensive introduction to programming for computer science and technology majors. Topics include software development methodology, data types, control structures, functions, arrays, and the mechanics of running, testing, and debugging. This is the second of a two-course sequence designed to teach programming in Swift.
CST-161 Computer Program Fundamentals (4 Credits)
This course introduces students to the logic used to develop solutions to common problems in the computer science field using a contemporary high-level programming language such as Python. These step-by-step detail solutions are called algorithms and serve as the basic solution to most computer science problems. Topics include number systems, computer instructions, program logic, secure coding techniques, file management, and foundational concepts in computer science. Problem solving, critical thinking, and programing techniques are emphasized throughout the course.
CST-162 Computer Algorithms (4 Credits)
In this course, students will learn algorithm development and program design using an object-oriented language such as Java. Topics include logical operators, control structures, program testing and debugging, secure coding techniques, documentation, user-defined methods and classes, parameter passing, graphical user interfaces, one and two-dimensional arrays, simple sorting and searching, graphs of functions, and string manipulation.
CST-170 Digital Forensics Essentials (4 Credits)
This hands-on course introduces the fundamental principles of forensic science generally, and the specifically, including forensic procedures, imaging, hashing, file recovery, file system basics, mismatched file types, reporting, and the laws governing digital evidence. Students will use both open-source and court-approved (AccessData) forensic software tools to conduct digital forensic examinations.
CST-175 Networking Fundamentals (3 Credits)
This course covers the basics of networking. Students are introduced to the many types of connections found within computer networks, the technologies necessary to connect computers and networks, and actions that occur when a data transmission produces an error. Topics include firewalls, network operating systems, hardware and software protocols, internetworking, telecommunications, and security.
CST-176 Advanced Digital Forensics (4 Credits)
This hands-on course builds upon foundational knowledge gained in Digital Forensics Essentials and Linux Fundamentals courses. Students will perform detailed forensic analyses and produce forensic reports of findings on a series of compromised and/or seized system images, using tools for distributed data collection, imaging, and forensics. Students will examine host-level data along with some network-level data and mobile device data, as well as systematically determine what happened and how. Students will use both open-source and court-approved (AccessData)forensic software tools to conduct digital forensic examinations.
CST-202 Systems Analysis and Design (3 Credits)
This course is a general study of concepts related to systems analysis and design and the role of the systems analyst. Topics include the secure systems development life cycle, feasibility study, data flow diagrams, data dictionaries, reports, UML diagrams, and other documenting system specifications.
CST-204 Database Management Systems (3 Credits)
This course concentrates on the principles, design, implementation, maintenance, and applications of database management systems. Topics include security, privacy, normalization, data modeling, data validation, user forms, reports, and Web connectivity. The structured query language, SQL, will be used to process an industry-standard relational database management system.
CST-210 Principles of Cybersecurity (3 Credits)
This course introduces the student to the field of cybersecurity. It presents a comprehensive survey of the breadth of cybersecurity. This includes local host, network, web, and databases that are prone to attack. The student will focus on the identification of security threats and countermeasures that can be taken to make these systems more secure. Students will also learn about the legal, compliance, ethical and professional issues in cybersecurity.
CST-212 Programming for Mobile Devices (3 Credits)
This course provides a strong foundation necessary to build mobile applications for Android devices. This course builds upon key programming concepts including variables, conditional statements, lists, and arrays, and gives the confidence and technical skills needed to create fully functional Android apps.
CST-215 Cyber Law and Ethics (3 Credits)
This course presents the student with issues of law and ethics in cyberspace. Topics covered will include government regulation of online behavior, constitutional considerations concerning free speech and content controls, intellectual property, hacking, and the ethics of internet behavior. This course will explore the laws governing security breaches and responses to such breaches, and current United States case law and statutes governing the Internet.
CST-222 Comp Org Arch & Assembly Lang (4 Credits)
This course is an introduction to the organization and architecture of a computer system. The course will focus on machine representation of instructions and data through the study of the digital-logic level, machine level, assembly level, and operating system level. Assembly language programming is used as a means to introduce computer architecture. Topics include processors, instruction sets, addressing techniques, subroutines, digital logic, number systems, memory dumps, registers, and the internal data representation.
CST-226 Intro to Operating Systems (3 Credits)
This course introduces the theory and function of contemporary operating systems. The course is not limited to a single operating system but rather to general operating systems concepts. Topics include the four main managers found in every operating system: memory management, processor management, device management, and file management. Also introduced are network organization concepts, operating system security, and management of network functions.
CST-230 Windows Admin & Security (3 Credits)
This hands-on course provides a comprehensive understanding of the popular Windows operating system and associated security concepts. Topics include Windows system administration tasks, TCP/IP networking suite, access control methods, baseline security configurations, virtualized environments, detection and removal of malware, and native digital forensics tools.
CST-240 Network Forensics & Incident (4 Credits)
This course covers the requisite knowledge and hands-on practice with network forensics in response to data breaches, incidents, and intrusions. Topics include the Internet of Things (IoT), network traffic tools, data packet flow, and event log analyses. Students will learn to identify, categorize, and respond to network and host incidents in a forensically secure manner.
CST-245 Cloud & Personal Device Forensic (4 Credits)
This course presents the various and emerging forensic tools used to recover evidence from Cloud storage and from personal devices, such as mobile phones, smartwatches, and voice-enable devices. Students will learn how to analyze and interpret recovered data, as well as discover which tools are best suited for recovering valuable electronic evidence from smart devices. The forensics challenges and issues of Cloud computing and the Internet of Things (IoT) will also be studied.
CST-261 Data Structures (4 Credits)
This course investigates abstract data types (ADTs), recursion, algorithms for searching and sorting, and basic algorithmic analysis using an object-oriented language. Data structures to be covered include, but not limited to strings, arrays, lists, stacks, queues, trees, and heaps. Students also will explore the use of a variety of data structures and useful algorithms, such as searching and sorting, in the context of modeling and simulation.
CST-285 Cyber Forensics Capstone (3 Credits)
This capstone course is required of all cyber forensics degree and certificate candidates. As a culminating course, it allows students to demonstrate their interdisciplinary knowledge and technical skills learned in previous program courses. Through a service-learning field experience, students develop the ability to meet and excel in career and social demands of the 21st century by applying program content in a practical setting and interacting with professionals in a variety of fields. This course combines on-campus meetings, service placement with community partners, and independent projects. This capstone experience must be taken in a student's last semester immediately prior to graduation.
CST-298 Special Topics-Java II (3 Credits)
Topics of current interest and trends in computer programming are discussed in this seminar course. Course content is arranged to satisfy particular needs and interests of students. This course is intended for students who are completing their degree in Computer Science.