Business and Economics: Management

Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. Principles of Business: Management provides students and researchers with a solid understanding of the most important aspects of management, from leadership and operations to project management and entrepreneurship. An understanding of the fundamentals of management will serve job-seekers in all industries, alongside those who want to start their own business. Principles of Business: Management offers over 100 easy-to-understand entries covering the diverse field of business management. Entries include detailed coverage of: Business, Ethics & Society Competitive Strategy Copyrights Crisis Management Current Issues in Entrepreneurship Decision Making Under Uncertainty Disruptive Innovation Diversity in the Workplace Employee Selection Labor Legislation & Unions Negotiations Productivity Startup Incubation Teams & Team building . This new resource is a helpful tool for students and researchers who are just beginning their study of finance and need a solid background of the key terms and elements in the field. A must for all high school and undergraduate science programs.

A pioneer in learning organizations offers five disciplines that reveal the link between far-flung causes and immediate effects. The title for this entry is linked to a preview of the 2010 edition via Google Books.

This is an essential reference to the critical concepts and theories all project managers must master.

This book highlights management at IBM, Texas Instruments, 3M, and other American businesses. The title for this entry is linked to a preview of the 2004 edition via Google Books.

Quality, the key to the competitive advantage, is interpreted in its broader sense: overall performance of a organization, rather than quality of products and services. In addition to traditional theory of TQM, the book covers concepts of quality management, including Six-Sigma, Lean Production, CRM, Balanced Score Card and Corporate Social Responsibility. The book includes self-checklist for implementation.

In discussing a management topic, scholars, educators, practitioners, and the media often toss out the name of a theorist (Taylor, Simon, Weber) or make a sideways reference to a particular theory (bureaucracy, total quality management, groupthink) and move on, as if assuming their audience possesses the necessary background to appreciate and integrate the reference. This is often far from the case. Individuals are frequently forced to seek out a hodgepodge of sources varying in quality and presentation to provide an overview of a particular idea. This work is designed to serve as a core reference for anyone interested in the essentials of contemporary management theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses to thoughtfully apply them. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research as one might find in a handbook. And, like an unabridged dictionary, it provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.   Features and Benefits: Two volumes containing over 280 signed entries provide users with the most authoritative and thorough reference resources available on management theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage. Standardized presentation format, organized into categories based on validity and importance, structures entries so that readers can assess the fundamentals, evolution, and impact of theories. To ease navigation between and among related entries, a Reader's Guide groups entries thematically and each entry is followed by Cross-References. In the electronic version, the Reader's Guide combines with the Cross-References and a detailed Index to provide robust search-and-browse capabilities.  An appendix with a Chronology of Management Theory allows readers to easily chart directions and trends in thought and theory from early times to the present. An appendix with Central Management Insights allows readers to easily understand, compare, and apply major theoretical messages of the field. Suggestions for Further Reading at the end of each entry guide readers to sources for more detailed research and discussion. Key themes include: Nature of Management  Managing People, Personality, and Perception  Managing Motivation  Managing Interactions Managing Groups Managing Organizations  Managing Environments  Strategic Management  Human Resources Management  International Management and Diversity Managerial Decision Making, Ethics, and Creativity Management Education, Research, and Consulting Management of Operations, Quality, and Information Systems Management of Entrepreneurship Management of Learning and Change Management of Technology and Innovation Management and Leadership Management and Social / Environmental Issues PLUS: Appendix of Chronology of Management Theory  PLUS: Appendix of Central Management Insights