Below are reference books and paralegal specific titles available at UCNJ libraries.
Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, Loose-Leaf Version by
Be the go to paralegal at your firm with the fourth edition of LEGAL RESEARCH, ANALYSIS, AND WRITING! This book shows you how to conduct reliable legal research, analyze the results, and write clear memoranda and other legal documents that are on-point and well supported. In addition to an easy-to-read format, this student favorite offers hypothetical scenarios, examples, and exercises that clarify the important work paralegals do every day to help law offices and legal departments run smoothly. Of course, the fourth edition offers the latest updates, with special attention to the electronic legal research tools common today. And, to add to your success, optional MindTap tools cater to your personal learning style with interactive quizzing, flashcards, and practice assignments that help you build momentum and confidence quickly.
Ethics for Paralegals by
Buy a new version of this textbook and receive access to the Connected eBook with Study Center on Casebook Connect, including lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities. Access also includes practice questions, an outline tool, and other helpful resources. Connected eBooks provide what you need most to be successful in your law school classes. Introducing students to the basic tenets of legal ethics, this text explores the regulations affecting the paralegal's relationships with clients and ethical requirements that legal professionals follow within the justice system. The book closely aligns to the NALA and NFPA codes of responsibility, providing side-by-side comparison of their similarities and differences that offers students opportunities for critical analysis. Key Benefits: Close correlation with NALA and NFPA codes of professional responsibility. Ethics applications that address the evolving legal landscape and technology. Review questions, scenarios for in-class discussion, and Reel to Real features (discussions of media's portrayal of attorneys in ethical dilemmas) engage students and provide opportunities to practice skills. Research This feature that help strengthen students' research skills by providing suggestions for more in-depth study of key issues.
A Practical Guide to Legal Research and Analysis for Paralegal and Legal Studies Students by
Phillips's A Practical Guide to Legal Research and Analysis for Paralegal and Legal Studies Students distills legal analysis and research to a series of concrete skills that can be acquired chapter-by-chapter. The approachable writing style invites students to engage in active thinking and questioning. The text introduces skills and patterns of legal analysis in small pieces so students can master them bit by bit, with ample opportunity to practice using the creative end-of-chapter exercises. Students are guided step-by-step through an analysis exercise so that they can replicate the process. Students then practice the process in an end-of-chapter exercise, and later use the skill in drafting a memo or a motion as explained in the last two chapters. The book's conversational style makes it easy to read and makes legal analysis easy to grasp.
The Legal Research and Writing Handbook by
With clear explanations, examples, and visual aids, The Legal Research and Writing Handbook, Eighth Edition by Andrea Yelin and Hope Viner Samborn offers complete coverage of a complex subject in a student-friendly, accessible text. In this thoroughly updated new edition, the authors continue to keep pace with legal research, citation, and technology in today's law firms. This practical text focuses on efficient research processes and techniques for both traditional and electronic sources, along with step-by-step instruction through each stage of the legal writing process, from prewriting strategies, to revising. The text is enhanced with examples and visual aids, expert writing and practice tips, hands-on exercises, ethics alerts, up-to-date web resources, and easy-to-navigate page design. Excellent exercises are provided to reinforce student learning. Key Features: Updated and expanded coverage of electronic resources reflecting how paralegals do research today Detailed discussion of how to use legal authorities in legal communications and how to synthesize them and present them to attorneys Examples, exhibits, practical tips, updated exercises, and web resources in every chapter Expanded discussion of e-mail and e-memos In-depth coverage of the IRAC method, as well as how to write legal memoranda and legal correspondence
Fundamentals of Litigation for Paralegals by
Fundamentals of Litigation for Paralegals, 9E offers a complete understanding of the litigation process from the time the client walks into the office through to trial and post-judgment, including settlements and alternative forms of resolutions. The successful, balanced approach presents a clear, complete overview of the litigation process, without bogging down in so many rules and procedures that the learning process is thwarted. The text's clear, flexible organization allows the instructor to easily pick and choose the areas to cover in the course. Pedagogical aids throughout the text, including bold-face terms defined in the margins and in the glossary; numerous examples, charts, checklists, and sample documents; chapter overviews and summaries; and review questions, make the material much more accessible to students. The litigation file at the end of the materials allows the student to see samples, not just read, about the motions, pleadings, and discovery requests that are part of a litigation case. Features: Updated with changes to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Short, edited cases added to each chapter, with questions,for follow-up discussion on key topics Includes new developments in e-discovery Updated with new techniques for utilizing computerized litigation support systems in preparing cases for trial Updated internet research questions Coverage streamlined throughout Helpful pedagogy includes bold-face terms defined in the margins and in the glossary; numerous examples, charts, checklists, and sample documents; chapter overviews and summaries; and review questions In addition to review questions (including true-false, short answer, and essays, with answers and explanations), the workbook has case scenarios for the student to use in completing assignments for the course and for use by the instructor as case studies in class. The Instructor's Manual provides answers to the questions posed in the workbook and book, as well as test questions for each chapter with answers and explanations
Paralegal Reference books were purchased with Perkins grant funds and many are multivolume sets.