LibGuides: Hispanic Heritage: Periodicals and Videos

UCNJ Libraries' Databases to Find Journal Articles

Use the subject dropdown menu to limit databases by subject. Some subjects to search for Hispanic Heritage sources are: History, Sociology, and Countries and Cultures.

American History (FOF) This link opens in a new window
American History spanning prehistory to the present day, was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. The database includes articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Diversity Studies prepares researchers for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
A resource for diversity and ethnic studies that includes journals, newspapers, primary sources, and other materials.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Modern World History (FOF) This link opens in a new window
Modern World History considers world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Using thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos, slideshows, maps, graphs, primary sources, and timelines, it provides a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to Spanish speakers with limited online research experience.

Videos from the UCNJ Libraries' Films on Demand Database

As American as Apple Pie: The Latino Experience in America (Series - 2 episodes)
Habla y Vota
The Latino Americans (Series - 6 episodes)
Latin Beat: Latino Culture in the United States
Moyers & Company: Hispanic America's Turn

E-Journals from the UCNJ Libraries' Gale One File: Diversity Studies Database

Afro-Hispanic Review - Full text coverage available for this semiannual journal from March 2010 - today
Bulletin of Hispanic Studies - Full text coverage available for this monthly journal from February 2000 - July 2022
CENTRO: Journal of the Center for Puerto Rican Studies - Full text coverage available for this semiannual journal from March 2005 - September 2021
Dieciocho: Hispanic Enlightenment - Full text coverage available for this semiannual journal from March 1999 - March 2017
Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences - Full text coverage available for this quarterly journal from February 1997 - November 1998
Hispanic Times Magazine - Full text coverage available for this triannual magazine from May 1996 - September 2003
Journal of American Ethnic History - Full text coverage available for this quarterly journal from June 1994 - today
The Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies - Full text coverage available for this annual journal from September 2005 - today
The Latin Americanist - Full text coverage available for this quarterly journal from March 2012 - today
Latino Leaders - Full text coverage available for this bimonthly journal from October 2001 - today

Articles from the Web

"Addressing Barriers to Primary Care Access for Latinos in the U.S.: An Agent-Based Model" - from the Journal of the Society for Social Work and Research via University of Chicago Press Journals
"American Latino Theme Study: Struggles for Inclusion, Demanding Equal Political Voice...And Accepting Nothing Less" - from the National Parks Service
"Experiences of Victimization Among Latinos: Studies Confirm Significant Victim Mental Health Impact and Mistrust of Authorities" - from the National Institute of Justice
Hispanic/Latino Demographics (multiple articles) - from Pew Research Center
Hispanic/Latino Identity (multiple articles) - from Pew Research Center
Hispanic/Latino Voters (multiple articles) - from Pew Research Center
"Latino Populations: A Unique Opportunity for the Study of Race, Genetics, and Social Environment in Epidemiological Research" - from the National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information
"Mental Health Needs of an Emerging Latino Community" - from the National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information
"New 2020 Census Data Shows an Aging America and Wide Racial Gaps Between Generations" - from the Brookings Institution
"Somos Latino/Latina/Latinx/Latine/Hispanic" - from the Washington Post
Times Topics: Hispanic-Americans (multiple articles) - from the New York Times
"Yes, We're Calling It Hispanic Heritage Month And We Know It Makes Some Of You Cringe" - from NPR

Videos from TED Ed

"TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, but today it spans a multitude of worldwide communities and initiatives exploring everything from science and business to education, arts and global issues. In addition to the hundreds of TED Talks curated from our annual conferences and published on TED.com, we produce original podcasts, short video series, animated TED-Ed lessons and TV programs that are translated into more than 100 languages and distributed via partnerships around the world" (ted.com, n.d.).

UCNJ Libraries' Databases to Find Videos

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium consists of thousands of streaming videos from a large number of producers and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.
Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new window
Digitalia Film Library offers a diverse selection of films and documentaries for Latino American Collection and North American Classic Cinema Collection.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming educational video resource. Subjects include: allied health, anthropology, archival films/newsreels, art/architecture, biology, business/economics, communication, counseling/social work, criminal justice, earth science, education, engineering, entertainment, environmental science, geography, health/medicine, history, mathematics, music/dance, philosophy/religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, technology, world languages. Many of the videos are close-captioned and/or have interactive transcripts.

UCNJ Libraries' Newspaper Collection

Hispanic Life in America (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media. 1704 to today, updated daily.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times Newspaper online This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to the New York Times online and you can register for a digital subscription and add the NYT app.

Videos from the UCNJ Libraries' Academic Video Online: Premium Database

Videos from the Web

Film and Video Resources from the Web

Latino Public Broadcasting