Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hispanic Heritage Month Resources: UCC Libguides

National Hispanic Heritage Month

Background image: Detail of "Frida Kahlo". Silkscreen by Rupert Garcia, 1975. Used with permission. (Library of Congress).https://www.loc.gov/item/2014645245

"Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.

The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 and ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988, on the approval of Public Law 100-402.

The day of September 15 is significant because it is the anniversary of independence for Latin American countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September18, respectively. Also, Columbus Day or Día de la Raza, which is October 12, falls within this 30 day period."

(The statement above is extracted from the National Hispanic Heritage Month Web site, a project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.)

Hispanic, Latino/a, Latinx

Hispanic refers to a person who is from, or a descendant of someone who is from, a Spanish-speaking country.
 

Latino/a or Latinx refers to a person who is from, or a descendant of someone who is from, a country in Latin America. Latinx evolved as a term to refer to people of Latin American descent, designed to include those who don't identify as male or female or who don't want to be identified by their gender.

Cultural Events

Smithsonian Institution-  in honor of Hispanic Heritage Month, online events are offered online through the Smithsonian.

Per the Smithsonian Institution Web site-- The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum, education, and research complex.

Education

Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities: was established in 1986 and "...represents more than 500 colleges and universities committed to Hispanic higher education success in the U.S., Puerto Rico, Latin America, Spain and U.S. school districts. Although our member institutions in the U.S. represent only 17% of all higher education institutions nationwide, together they are home to two-thirds of all Hispanic college students. HACU is the only national educational association that represents Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSIs)."

Additionally, the following links are made available from the National Parks Service (American Latino Heritage Projects)--

Puerto Rican Studies

Latino Studies

Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Cuban Studies

Historic Places

The National Register of Historic Places--  "... is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.

The National Register of Historic Places lists many properties significant for Hispanic Heritage. We take the opportunity of Hispanic Heritage Month to highlight just some of the properties that exemplify the contributions of Hispanic culture and achievement."

Library Databases

Academic Search Premier-- contains full text and citations of scholarly publications on topics in the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Coverage: 1990 – present.

Alt-HealthWatch-- focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, and contains nearly 50,000 articles from over 160 international, peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Coverage: 1990 to the present.

Biographies Reference Bank-- includes more than 45,000 biographies from more than 100 biographical reference sources.

Diversity Studies-- "Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily."

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text database of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from ethnic, minority, and native news sources. This rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, and reviews provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints missing from the "mainstream press."

GALE Health and Wellness- use Health and Wellness to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription drugs, and others.

GenderWatch-- is a full text database of articles on the subject of gender. Find information on subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, such as aging, birth control, careers, class, disability, domestic abuse, education, family, health-care, race, sexual harassment, sexuality, and more.

JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III; Math and Statistics-- Back runs of 269 titles, with subject areas including: economics; history; political science; sociology; music; film studies; folklore; performing arts; religion; the history and study of art and architecture; ecology; mathematics; and statistics.

Literary Reference Center-- is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. It contains overviews, book reviews, criticism and more.

New York Times (1980-present)-- Access through Nexis Lexis Academic database. Full-text coverage from 1980 – present.

Points of View-- database provides a convenient way to begin researching a contemporary social issue. It contains opinion pieces, reference book articles, and magazine, journal, and newspaper articles presorted by topic. Students can choose from a list of topics or enter a search.

Referencia Latina-- "... a comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of sources including 49,000 encyclopedia entries; 50,000 images; 2,500 health reports; a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users with limited online research experience."

Library e-Book Collections

Community College Ebooks--  are included in the EBSCO Ebook collection.

Ebook Central-- Ebook Central is designed with mobile in mind. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download ebooks from University Presses for offline reading.

Infobase eBooks--  subjects include biographies, literary criticism, politics, science, criminology, women's studies, and more.

National Academies Press eBooks-- The National Academies Press makes available more than 4,000 titles in PDF format, publishing "... more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy" (http://www.nap.edu/about.html ). Print copies must be paid for, but most of their ebooks (PDF) are free.

Library Streaming Film Collections

Academic Video Online: Premium--  consists of thousands of streaming videos from a large number of produces and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.

Digitalia Latino American Collection (On Campus Access Only)

Films on Demand-- videos covering Philosophy, Religion, Politics, and Psychology. The full length videos are segmented into useable clips, and may be shared, saved, organized, or embedded in course content management systems. Many of the videos are close-captioned and/or have interactive transcripts. Citations are available in Chicago, MLA, and APA styles.

Videos

UCC LibGuides at Union County College