Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide to Library Tools for Student Success: Home

Information and links on Library Resources for faculty and students to promote student success.

Library News

Kellogg Library at the Elizabeth campus: Due to recent storm-related flooding, the Kellogg Library at the Elizabeth campus has temporarily relocated to the third floor of Lessner Building, EL-323. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Library Contact Information and Hours

MacKay Library, Cranford Campus 1033 Springfield Avenue, Cranford, NJ 07016, Reference 908-709-7027

Lessner Building (L323), Elizabeth Campus 12 West Jersey Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07202, Reference 908-965-6075 

Plainfield Campus (Annex) 232 East Second Street, Plainfield, NJ 07060, Reference 908-412-3545

Link here for Library Hours

Each campus library has access to librarian research assistance, computers, printing, group study rooms, print and online resources.

Welcome to the Faculty Guide to Library Tools for Student Success LibGuide

The Library is here to help support student success. This guide is intended to provide Union College faculty with information on library resources and services.

In addition to print and DVD materials, the Library has more than 300,000 online Library resources that can be linked and viewed in Canvas course modules.

In addition to eBooks and articles in databases, there are streaming video collections:  

Union College Library Streaming Video Resources

Academic Video Online: Premium -- Streaming videos from a large number of producers and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.

Digitalia Film Library -- Offers both the Latinoamerican Collection and the North American Classic Cinema collection.

24/7 EMS -- A collection of streaming online videos covering a range of Emergency Medical Services topics.  

Films on Demand -- contains streaming educational videos covering Philosophy, Religion, Politics, and Psychology. The full length videos are segmented into useable clips, and may be shared, saved, organized, or embedded in course content management systems. Many of the videos are close-captioned and/or have interactive transcripts. Citations are available in Chicago, MLA, and APA styles.

Films on Demand: Physical Therapy -- a Films on Demand subset collection with more than 280 films on physical therapy topics.

MEDCOM Nursing -- Videos on fundamental and advanced nursing topics.  Perkins grant resource so usage is limited to Nursing students and faculty currently affiliated with Union College. The Nursing professor must provide the User ID and password.

SWANK -- Streaming videos used in Film Studies courses.

Symptom Media Mental Health Education and Training Videos -- "The films are designed to de-stigmatize and accurately reflect mental health issues.  Symptom Media contains assessment Tools, DSM 5 & ICD 10 guided case studies."

Library Liaison Areas

Jane Jiang (yu.jiang@ucc.edu), Library Director

STEM Division (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Math, Engineering, Computer Science)

Kelsey Gallagher (kelsey.gallagher@ucc.edu), Assistant Library Director
Liaison: Social Science Division (Business, Economics, Government, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology, Criminal Justice, History, Education, and Sports Management)

Elsa Bruguier  (Bruguier@ucc.edu)
Liaison:  Allied Health (Emergency Medical Technician, Paramedic, Physical Therapist Assistant, Radiography, Respiratory Care, Sonography), American Sign Language and Deaf Studies, American Sign Language-English Interpreting, and Practical Nursing.

Karen Venturella  (Malnati@ucc.edu)

Liaison: Humanities Division (English, Communication, Modern Languages, Fine Arts) & Paralegal

UCC LibGuides at Union County College