Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCC LibGuides at Union County College
Finding Open Access Books and Documents
"Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks."
Directory of Open Access Books
"The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access (that) meet academic standards."
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA provides access to more than 2.5 million online books searchable by title, subject, and language.
Open Access E-Books in JSTOR database
80 titles from UCL, Cornell University Press, University of Michigan Press, and University of California Press.
Library of Congress
Access17 million books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections.
Websites with Open Access Resources
Includes open access videos, live music, audio, texts, and archived web pages.
More than 30 million catalog records from open-archive collections worldwide. Includes texts, audio, videos, images, data sets, more.
Open Library of Humanities
Publishes open access scholarship. "The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal..."
"Digital Commons is the leading hosted institutional repository software for universities, colleges, law schools, and research centers. ...(includes) faculty papers, student scholarship, and annual reports to open-access journals, conference proceedings, and monographs."
Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA offers more than 15 million items from the collections of libraries, archives, and museums from around the world. Resources are searchable using a single portal, "... providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage."
HathiTrust Digital Library
"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
Finding Open Access Images
Some sites to find images that are licensed for re-use.
Use flickr advanced search to find images that are licensed for use under a Creative Commons license.
Most of the images on this site are licensed for re-use. The record for each image gives information about the license terms.
Google Image Search
Google's Advanced Image Search allows you to limit your results to images labeled for re-use.
Art Images for College Teaching
A free-use image resource for the educational community arranged by art historical period and keyed to major art historical textbooks.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Provides access to about one million digital images within the collection of the Library of Congress' Prints and Photographs Division. Includes architectural and historical images.