Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sexual and Gender Minorities (LGBTQIA+): Find Articles

Suggested Databases

The databases listed below contain articles in scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and gray literature.

Academic Search Premier- This is a multi-disciplinary (varied subjects) database that offers scholarly and peer-reviewed articles.

GenderWatch -- vendor description: "... With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining hundreds of academic, gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with hundreds of thousands of articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.

All the titles featured in the GenderWatch database offer unique, distinctive voices seldom heard in mainstream media. Sometimes outspoken, always informative, the collection represents multiple viewpoints from a wide variety of publications. From scholarly analysis to popular opinion, GenderWatch encompasses more than three decades of gender studies."

Nexis Uni -- Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Also includes New York Times articles from 1980 – present.

SocINDEX with Fulltext-- A sociology research database, containing abstracts of articles going back to 1895; full text articles going back to 1908; full text of over 800 books; and full text of over 14,000 conferences.

Why Search Databases

Watch this short video to understand the value of library databases.

UCC LibGuides at Union County College