Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCC LibGuides at Union County College
“Writing women back into history”
These 9 women have woven stories into the fabric of our history:
Delilah L. Beasley (1867-1934)
Gladys Tantaquidgeon (1899-2005)
Eleanor Flexner (1908 –1995)
Polly Welts Kaufman (1929-Present)
Lynn Sherr (1943- Present)
Judy Yung (1946-Present)
Darlene Clark Hine (1947- )
Holly Near (1949-Present)
Vicki L. Ruiz (1955 – )
DIY Search for Books and DVDs to Borrow from Our Library Shelves
Primary Sources - Images, News Reports, First-Hand Accounts, Speeches, etc.
Almost Famous Women
Almost Famous Women: Stories by
Call Number: 813.6 Be454
Now at Display area for new items.
HOW TO FIND AN OBITUARY IN LEXIS NEXIS
Films On Demand
Jackie Kennedy appreciated art and intellectual engagement. A television special gave a tour of the newly remodeled White House. This is a 5 minute "segment" of the complete title film, JFK: Part Three.
Places to Find More Information About History of Women by Name.
The following databases contain articles and information that will help you with your research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - History Reference Collection
When the GVRL screen appears, select BIOGRAPHY from the left menu. Then, at the upper right of the screen, enter a woman's name (or enter woman or female) into the box to search "Biography."
Biography Reference Bank
This database covers over 500,000 people with biographical profiles, and obituaries. And, the database includes over 36,000 images!
Biographical Information Search in LexisNexis Academic
The news coverage includes deep archives in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts.
See also information about finding obituaries via LexisNexis given at the end of this column.
Searches 4 Proquest databases (Gender Watch; Ethnic NewsWatch; Historical Newspapers (New York Times); Ebrary E-Books)
From the Great Lives from History Series.