United States History: Databases

This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.

Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History explores the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.

American History spanning prehistory to the present day, was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. The database includes articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.

Diversity Studies prepares researchers for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

A searchable platform of all the Library's Facts on File History databases: African-American, American, Ancient & Medieval, and Modern World.

This JSTOR collection includes core journals in: Eastern and Western religions; ecology, economics; film studies; folklore; history; mathematics; music; performing arts; political science; sociology; the history and study of art and architecture; statistics.

Modern World History considers world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Using thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos, slideshows, maps, graphs, primary sources, and timelines, it provides a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

World Geography & Culture provides comprehensive country profiles, covering geography, history, society, and culture with maps, flags, images, statistics, news, and more.

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Covers national and international news, politics, business, culture, science, and more. Includes articles, videos, podcasts, and educational resources through the New York Times InEducation link under "More."

NewsBank provides access to a large range of news articles including access to World News, Newark Star-ledger, Black Life in America, Hispanic Life in America, Asian Life in America and more.

Academic Video Online: Premium consists of thousands of streaming videos from a large number of producers and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.

Films on Demand is a streaming educational video resource. Subjects include: allied health, anthropology, archival films/newsreels, art/architecture, biology, business/economics, communication, counseling/social work, criminal justice, earth science, education, engineering, entertainment, environmental science, geography, health/medicine, history, mathematics, music/dance, philosophy/religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, technology, world languages. Many of the videos are close-captioned and/or have interactive transcripts.

Discover a vast collection of educational films, documentaries, and globally recognized foreign films, enhancing your classroom experience and beyond.