Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCC LibGuides at Union County College
Search Options / Limit Your Results
Below are the descriptions of ways in which you can change or limit your search, organized into three categories:
Academic Search Premier allows you to decide how its search tool "parses" your search terms. These choices include:
- Boolean Phrase: search using AND, OR, NOT / exact phrase searching. Learn more from EBSCO's Boolean help page
- Find all my search terms: puts "and" between all of your search terms and looks for results that contain all of your terms
- Find any of my search terms: puts "or" between all of your search and retrieves results that contain any of your search terms
- SmartText Seaching: allows you enter/paste large chunks of text to search
- Apply Related Words:searches for alternate word endings and search term synonyms
- Also search within the full text of the articles: Looks at full text of articles (instead of title and abstract) to find your search terms)
Commonly used limiting features from the "Limit Your Results" options include:
- Full Text: Limits to results that have the entire text available for viewing or download
- Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals): Limits your search to those publications that use a Peer Review process or are considered scholarly
- PDF Full Text: Limits your search results to only documents that are available for download as PDF files (no HTML Full Text)
- References Available: Limits your search results to documents that include a bibliography
- Published From: Only displays results within the date range that you specify
- Publication Type: Limits your results to the publication type (newspapers, periodicals, etc.) that you select
Other limiting features from the "Limit Your Results" options include:
- Publication: Limits your results to only those published in a specified journal or
How can I narrow a search after it's been placed?
When your search results display, you can further narrow your search by clicking boxes in the left column to add more search criteria.
Refine Your Results
Full Text - view articles online from this database
References Available - finds articles that contain a reference list or bibliography
Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals - finds articles which have been approved by a panel of experts before publication
Publication Date - narrow the range of dates included by clicking and dragging the date sliders, which are circled below
- To limit searches to academic sources only, click the box in front of Academic Journals
Subject: Thesaurus Term / Subject
- Add more search terms by clicking on boxes in front of subjects. Thesaurus terms are "official" subject terms/phrases.
NOTE: As limiters are added by clicking items in the left column, they appear at the top of the results list. Any limiter can be removed by clicking on its .