Skip to main content

EMS: EMT and Paramedic

The Literature of EMS: Journals and Trade Magazines

Get to know the following journals and trade magazines in your field. They may be in the library databases, on the Web, or on the shelf in the Plainfield Campus Library.

To determine which database a journal or trade magazine is in, or if it is on the shelf, log-in to Owl's Nest and use the Full Text Finder tool, located under the first tab (Library Databases), on the databases page.

  • British Paramedic Journal --  in database.
  • EMS World --  a trade magazine, available on publisher Web site.
  • JEMS (Journal of Emergency Medical Services)--  a trade magazine, available on publisher Web site.
  • Journal of Emergency Management --  in databases and on shelf at the Plainfield Campus Library.
  • Journal of Paramedic Practice --  limited access in database.
  • Prehospital and Disaster Medicine -- in databases and on shelf at the Plainfield Campus Library.
  • Prehospital Emergency Care -- in databases and on shelf at the Plainfield Campus Library.

 

Fraud and Mistakes in Scholarly Literature

Retraction Watch --  Be aware, be informed.  Minor mistakes such as typos or wrong addresses can happen in scholarly literature. These can be corrected by issuing an erratum notice to point out the errors.  But sometimes, an entire article has to be recalled because the mistakes are serious. This act of recalling the article is called retraction, and it's not often well publicized, even though consequences of flawed research can be devastating. Here's a blog that serves as a "...an informal repository for the retractions" found by the blog's two author's (Adam Marcus, and Ivan Oransky).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can help you locate scholarly literature within the Union County College Libraries print and electronic resources. 

Google Scholar Search

EMT/Paramedic articles

 

Use the following databases to find articles about EMT, Paramedic, prehospital medicine and other healthcare topics.  To access the databases, go the the Union County College Libraries database page and click on the database name.

 

Please note:

 

  • If you are not logged in to your Owl's Nest account, you will be prompted to do so.
  • All of the databases listed below are available from off-campus.  Off-campus Owl's Nest log-in has the following format:  firstname.lastname@owl.ucc.edu, your password. 

 

Alt HealthWatch   Vendor description: This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Biomedical Reference Collection Comprehensive   Vendor description: Designed for doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers, this database provides nearly 900 full text journals, including nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications, covering virtually all areas of medical study. Journals available in full text in Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in MEDLINE.

CINAHL Complete   Vendor description: This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete
users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.

CINAHL Online Tutorials

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center   Ferguson's Career Guidance Center database is a "go to" resource for information about careers. Learn all about what is required for work in most any field. BONUS: Ferguson's now offers live job postings. Search it for jobs in the EMS profession.

Medline  Vendor description:  MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Medline Online Tutorials

Medline, PubMed, PMC (PubMed Central): How Are They Different?

Nursing & Allied Health Collection Comprehensive   Vendor description: Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL.

Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source   Vendor description: ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source makes it easy to find reliable healthcare information. This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.

PubMed  Available since 1996, PubMed has more than 30 million references.  Its citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PMC, and 3) National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf (NCBI). Click here for an overview of PubMed.

UCC LibGuides at Union County College