Environmental Sciences: Websites

"NASA Earth observation data help researchers understand biodiversity issues such as species distribution, forest health, and water resource management."

"Data tools use USGS data to create a map, graph, or other visualization. You can select which subset of the USGS data to work with and explore."

"eBird is among the world’s largest biodiversity-related science projects, with more than 100 million bird sightings contributed annually by eBirders around the world..."

GBIF provides open-access, peer-reviewed biodiversity data from global institutions.

Explore all things biodiversity provided by the National Parks Service.

"Understanding and addressing climate change is critical to EPA's mission of protecting human health and the environment. EPA tracks and reports greenhouse gas emissions, leverages sound science, and invests in America to combat climate change."

"Earth-orbiting satellites and new technologies have helped scientists see the big picture, collecting many different types of information about our planet and its climate all over the world. These data, collected over many years, reveal the signs and patterns of a changing climate."

"Americans’ health, security, and economic well-being are closely linked to climate and weather. People are looking for information to help them understand climate and make decisions on how to manage climate-related risks and opportunities. To meet this need, NOAA Climate.gov provides timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate science, adaptation, and mitigation."

The National Weather Service (NWS) provides weather, hydrologic, and climate forecasts and warnings for the United States, its territories, adjacent waters and ocean areas, for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy.

NCAR's mission is to understand the behavior of the atmosphere and related Earth and geospace systems, support and enhance the capabilities of the university community and broader scientific community, and foster the transfer of knowledge and technology.

"WMO regulates and facilitates free and unrestricted exchange of data and information, products, and services in real- or near-real time. This is critical for applications relating to the safety and security of society, social and economic welfare, and the protection of the environment."

An information hub supporting locally led efforts to conserve and restore our nation’s lands, waters, and wildlife.

"Today, through voluntary conservation programs, NRCS helps producers, soil and water conservation districts, and other partners protect and conserve natural resources on private lands throughout the United States."

Sierra Club is a grassroots environmental organization whose goal it is to, "educate and enlist humanity to protect and restore the quality of the natural and human environment; and to use all lawful means to carry out these objectives."

Find News and opinions, policy, articles and case studies. Find events and communities all over the globe to join.

Distributes open-access, peer-reviewed journals like Ecology and Ecosphere, as well as data and extra material relating to ecology.

Discover the world's forests through data.

Submit and discuss species observations and analyze ecological data in this user-generated online community of scientists and enthusiasts.

Search a database of federal regulations on eCFR from the National Archives and Records Administration.

The website provides access to U.S. legislative information, including bills, laws, committee reports, and congressional records. Utilize public tools to track legislation, access historical documents, and explore resources like the Congressional Record and legislative process guides.

The Environmental Law Institute offers resources on environmental law and policy, including research reports, journals like The Environmental Law Reporter, and educational materials on topics such as climate, biodiversity, and ocean management.

Find regulations, compliance & enforcement, and guidance & petitions information from the Environmental Protection Agency.

"The Sabin Center develops legal techniques to combat the climate crisis and advance climate justice, and trains the next generation of leaders in the field."

This website provides resources on global climate change policies such as the Paris Agreement and the Kyoto Protocol. National climate plans, negotiation updates, and scientific reports are also made readily available online.

"As changing climate patterns, biological and chemical contaminants, and aging water infrastructure systems threaten the availability and quality of water, communities and aquatic ecosystems will increasingly rely on advances in science and technology for resilience. EPA’s water research supports solutions that ensure adequate supplies of clean water resources to protect our health and livelihood, protect and restore watersheds and ecosystems, and strengthen our economy."

"Better access to water is helping create new possibilities for people in some of the world’s most remote communities. Goal 6 of the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals is ensuring availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all."

"Discover real-time data in your state. Create a list of your favorite monitoring locations. View latest conditions and weather events. Explore historical water data. Create a Water Alert."

"World Bank Water Data is your source for all water-related open data at the World Bank."

"The Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (UNESCO-IOC) promotes international cooperation in marine sciences to improve management of the ocean, coasts, and marine resources."

An essential resource that “enriches life through science,” providing extensive oceanographic data, interactive maps, and real-time datasets on marine ecosystems, ocean currents, and climate impacts.

Provides open-access oceanographic data, interactive maps, and live-streamed research expeditions, allowing visitors to investigate ocean ecosystems in real time.

"This site provides federally supported data visualizations coupled with explanations and science education to help communities prepare for challenges that will affect our coastal environments."

Contained within website are the Global Soil Organic Carbon Map and GLOSIS data platform to analyze soil health and support sustainable management research. The organization offers educational resources, including the Soil Atlas and training webinars, fostering data-driven studies in soil science and food security.

The organization provides digital soil maps, open-access publications, and global soil databases to explore soil classification and conservation. It offers educational resources, including the IUSS Bulletin and World Soil Day materials, fostering research and engagement in soil science.

"This fact sheet provides communities and individuals with general urban gardening information..."

Soil-related educational resources for students.

The professional home for soil scientists and certified professionals dedicated to advancing the field of soil science.

Renewable energy content from the IEA.

"IRENA promotes the widespread adoption and sustainable use of all forms of renewable energy, including bioenergy, geothermal, hydropower, ocean, solar and wind energy, in the pursuit of sustainable development, energy access, energy security and low-carbon economic growth and prosperity."

"The National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) bridges research with real-world applications to advance energy technologies that lower costs, boost the economy, strengthen security, and ensure abundant energy."

Comprehensive data, interactive tools, and research reports on renewable energy technologies like solar, wind, and bioenergy to advance sustainable energy solutions can be found in this website. EERE offers educational resources, including energy calculators and funding opportunity guides, to support in-depth study and practical applications in renewable energy and sustainability.

Learn about environmental sustainability, sustainable manufacturing, and search for grants.

Provides open-source data and analysis on temperatures and air pollution. Information can be viewed on interactive maps.

Interactive visualization of climate impacts, both past and future data-driven modeling projections available.

"The Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program provides open access to NASA’s archive of Earth science data, empowering researchers and decision makers to better understand and protect our home planet."

Using open-access datasets, Interactive maps, data dashboards, and the Resource Watch API allow users to visualize and analyze environmental data on climate, forests, water, and more.

"EPA's environmental topics guides you to the most popular pages in your topic of interest. Find EPA Articles and News Releases related to popular topics."

“Follow along as EPA celebrates Earth Day by sharing actions, information, and updates about how YOU can celebrate Earth Day. Learn how EPA protects the environment and builds a brighter, healthier future for all.”

"FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings
from 1961 to the most recent year available."

"Discover activities, programs, resources, and more that are specific to Earth Day and can be enjoyed throughout the entire year."

"Created by an act of Congress in 1879, the USGS provides science for a changing world, which reflects and responds to society’s continuously evolving needs. As the science arm of the Department of the Interior, the USGS brings an array of earth, water, biological, and mapping data and expertise to bear in support of decision-making on environmental, resource, and public safety issues."