Visual Arts: Art History Resources

Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

Project Muse provides citations for scholarly journals that cover topics in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Request full-text articles through inter-library loan.

JSTOR includes core journals in: Eastern and Western religions; ecology, economics; film studies; folklore; history; mathematics; music; performing arts; political science; sociology; the history and study of art and architecture; statistics.

Explore Artists

Explore Collections

Metropolitan Museum of Art: Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History provides a chronological overview of art history, detailing various periods, geographical regions, and key developments in the world of art from ancient to modern times. 

New York Art Resources Consortium offers a comprehensive, chronological guide to art history, organized by time periods, regions, and cultural movements.

Smithsonian Archives of American Art is dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to documentation about the history of the visual arts in the United States.

• Museums of the World

United States

• Art Institute of Chicago - Chicago, IL

• Getty Center - Los Angeles, CA

• Metropolitan Museum of Art - New York City, NY

• Museum of Fine Arts - Boston, MA

• Museum of Modern Art – MoMA - New York City, NY

• National Gallery of Art - Washington, D.C.

• Philadelphia Museum of Art - Philadelphia, PA

• Whitney Museum of American Art - New York City, NY

Europe

• British Museum - London, United Kingdom

• Louvre - Paris, France

• Musée D’orsay - Paris, France

• Museo Nacional Del Prado - Madrid, Spain

• National Gallery - London, United Kingdom

• Rijksmuseum Museum – Amsterdam, Netherlands

• Uffizi Gallery - Florence, Italy

Films On Demand is a streaming educational video resource. The videos in this database contain a wide range of information about art history.

Academic Video Online: Premium consists of thousands of streaming videos from a large number of producers and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.

Artcyclopedia features over 180,000 works of art by 8,500 artists, sourced from around 2,300 websites. It is searchable by artist name, artwork title, and the name or location of the museum.

Bridgeman Images database is an invaluable research, teaching and learning tool; a unique archive of digital images sourced from the world’s leading museums, galleries, contemporary artists, and private collections.

Brooklyn Museum Collection showcases thousands of artworks from various periods and cultures, allowing users to explore and search its collection online.

Frick Collection provides access to the museum's collection of fine art, including European paintings, sculptures, and decorative arts. Users can explore detailed information about the artworks and artists in the collection.

Getty Images is the world's largest provider of imagery, film, and digital services.

The Getty Museum Art Collection offers access to the Getty Museum's extensive collection of artworks, including European paintings, sculptures, manuscripts, and decorative arts. Users can explore detailed information about the pieces and artists.

Google Art Project ("The Cultural Institute") Google's virtual tour of major art museums and image collections; intense close-ups of major works of art [Google Chrome required].

Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection lets you explore and search through thousands of artworks and artifacts from their vast collection. You can filter by categories, periods, artists, and more.

Mother of All Art and Art History Links Page is a huge, expansive page with links to images, art history, art schools, and all things art.

National Gallery of Art, NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 20,000 open-access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.

NYPL Digital Collection provides access to a vast range of digitized materials, including photos, maps, manuscripts, and more, from the library’s collections.

Tate Gallery (London) allows you to search and explore artworks from Tate’s galleries, including pieces from British and international artists across various periods and styles.

Web Gallery of Art is an online resource featuring a vast collection of European fine arts, including paintings, sculptures, and architecture from the 12th to the 19th century. It provides detailed information and images of artworks by famous artists.

• African Art Museum of the Society of African Missions - Tenafly

• Clifton Arts Center and Sculpture Park - Clifton

• Grounds for Sculpture - Hamilton

• Hiram Blauvelt Art Museum - Oradell

• Hunterdon Art Museum - Clinton

• Montclair Art Museum - Montclair

• Morris Museum - Morristown

• Museum of Fine Arts and Popular Culture - Cape May

• Newark Museum of Art - Newark

• New Jersey State Museum - Trenton

• The Noyes Museum of Art at Stockton College - Oceanview

• Princeton University Art Museum - Princeton

• Wheaton Arts and Cultural Center - Millville

• Zimmerli Art Museum - New Brunswick