Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Reopening Policies & Procedures: Distance Education and Engagement

Documents the Library policies for services and handling materials to address COVID-19 concerns

ACRL Standards for Distance Learning Library Services

All students, faculty members, administrators, staff members, or any other members of an institution of higher education are entitled to the library services and resources of that institution, including direct communication with the appropriate library personnel, regardless of where they are physically located in relation to the campus; where they attend class in relation to the institution’s main campus; or the modality by which they take courses. Academic libraries must, therefore, meet the information and research needs of all these constituents, wherever they may be. This principle of access entitlement, as applied to individuals at a distance, is the undergirding and uncompromising conviction of the ACRL Standards for Distance Learning Library Services (June 2016)

Standards for Distance Learning Library Services

ACRL Distance Learning Section Instruction Committee: Instructional Design for Distance Librarians

Recording of the November 19, 2019, ACRL Distance Learning Section Instruction Committee: Instructional Design for Distance Librarians, with speaker Amanda Ziegler.

Virtual Meeting Software

Below are some virtual meeting and webinar software examples to facilitate virtual meetings and connections.

Further Reading

Library Instruction

Image above from Butler University Library https://www.butler.edu/library/services/library-instruction

Library Overview (50 minutes) – Students will be introduced to the library’s resources using the Union County College library LibGuide.

Searching the Online Catalog and eBooks (30 minutes) – Covers using the library's Discovery tool (One Search box), searching by subject, locating books by call numbers (how books are arranged on the shelf), and accessing and reading electronic vs print books. Uses the Union County College Library LibGuide. Includes hands-on research time

Database Searching (30 minutes per database ) – Covers using search terms, revising search phrases, locating, accessing, and reading journal articles as well as citing, saving, printing or emailing sources. Professors can suggest a database to cover.

Internet Resources and Evaluation (30 minutes) - Using library's web page to find scholarly articles versus using Google, Google Scholar, and Wikipedia. Explains evaluating information using the CRAAP test. Includes hands-on research time.

Preparing an Annotated Bibliography (60-90 minutes) – Covers researching a topic and creating an annotated bibliography. Professors are encouraged to schedule this session after students have chosen topics. 

Other Assignment-Specific Instruction (60-90 minutes) - Incorporates instruction tailored to a specific assignment or subject.  It is recommended that notification of subject areas be given one week in advance to allow for adequate preparation.  Librarian must be provided with course syllabus and assignment description. Includes hands-on research time.

Developing a Research Strategy (30 minutes) - Covers selecting a topic, writing a research question, and brainstorming search terms. Includes interactive exercise.

Steps in Writing a Research Paper (30-50 minutes) Describes major steps in drafting a research project.

UCC LibGuides at Union County College