Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to Union County College Libraries: Policies

Links to Library resources

Union County College Libraries

The Union County College libraries are composed of three branches: Cranford, 2nd floor of Kenneth Campbell MacKay building, Elizabeth, Kellogg building first floor, and the Plainfield campus library.

The Union County College libraries provide services and facilities to satisfy the varied information needs of the Union County College community. The library works with faculty to develop in students the skills of independent lifelong learners and information / digital literacy.

To meet the needs of the Union County College community, the libraries select, acquire, organize, and provide access to resources which support the curricula of the college and the research and interests of the Union County College staff, administration, and faculty.

Library Card

Your official Union County College photo ID card is your library card. This identification card is required to borrow any materials at any campus circulation services desk. No other form of ID will be accepted.

Circulating Materials

Attached is a circulation chart with loan period, renewal info, and fines for library materials.

Any damaged but usable material held in the collection will be designated as such in the library catalog record to ensure that no patron is charged costs for damages incurred by another.

If a student has fines which have been left unpaid for over a year, or are in excess of $5.00, or has a lost book, they must pay the fines before borrowing additional items.

Material Type

# of Items

Loan Period

Renewal & Period

Fines

Replacement Cost

Processing Fee

Books (Circulating)

10

28 days

2(28 days)

0.20 cents/day

Replacement cost

$5.00

Nursing books

5

28 days

1(28 days)

0.20 cents/day

Replacement cost

$5.00

Perkins books (Must be registered in Perkins program)

Any

??

??

??

Replacement cost

$5.00

Perkins ebooks (Password provided, access if in Perkins program)

Any

??

??

??

Replacement cost

$5.00

DVDs

10

7 days

1(7 days)

$1.00/day

Replacement cost

$5.00

VALE consortia Loan

3

28 days

1(28 days)

$50.00

??

Interlibrary Loan

3

Set by lending library

(DBLL)

$0.25/day

TBD

??

Hourly Reserve Items (Use in Library)

2

2 hours

-

$10.00/hour

TBD

$10.00

Markers/Calculator

NA

NA

NA

NA

NA

NA

Laptops

NA

NA

NA

NA

NA

NA

Reserve Materials

Physical Reserve items (books and DVDs) may be checked out at the Circulation desk. Physical Reserve items must be used in the Library, except when specified by faculty, and may be borrowed for up to two hours. Reserve materials that are not returned within two hours will incur a fine of ten dollars per hour. If a reserve item is reported lost or stolen, the Public Safety Department will be notified, and a Public Safety Officer will investigate the incident and file a report.  The borrower will incur a charge equal to the current replacement cost of the item plus a processing fee of five dollars.

Electronic reserve items (or eReserves) Departments can request that the library provide access to eReserves by submitting the eReserve form.  The link will be sent to the requesting department so that the link can be added to the Canvas course.

Non-Circulating Items

The library owns several collections that may only be used within the Library, including periodicals, newspapers, print & DVD reserves, Paralegal print, and Reference books.

To obtain a periodical or newspaper, make a request at the Circulation Desk. A College ID will be required.

Collection Development and Intellectual Freedom/Library Bill of Rights

Resources acquired for the libraries are selected to meet the teaching and research mission of the College. The Libraries’ collections strive to be an unbiased and diverse source of information, representing as many viewpoints as possible. The library focuses on acquiring electronic resources that are accessible to the College community from any location.

The libraries endorse the Library Bill of Rights and Intellectual Freedom statement adopted by the American Library Association.  http://www.ala.org/advocacy/sites/ala.org.advocacy/files/content/LBORwithInterpretations.pdf

Responsibility for Collection Development

The ultimate responsibility for the collection management and development rests with the Director of Libraries. The director may designate responsibility to the library faculty for each Division of the College. These liaisons work closely with their affiliated academic divisions to select materials appropriate for students. The Library seeks recommendations from faculty, staff, administration, and students and will honor these requests when they support our collection development criteria.

General Policies for Materials Selection

Many criteria are involved in selecting materials. The most important criteria are the relevance of the material to the educational program of the college. Additional criteria to be considered during materials selection are as follows:

  • Accuracy and objectivity of information
  • Strength of present holdings in the subject area
  • Authority of the author or issuing authority
  • Timeliness of the material
  • Cost
  • Availability in electronic format
  • Suitability of the specific media to the content and teaching purposes
  • Reputation of the publisher
  • Replacement copies

Lost or damaged copies will not automatically be replaced. The same selection criteria used for new materials will be used, in addition to other considerations such as the availability of the item and past demand for the item.

Resource Sharing/Interlibrary Loan

It is not possible for any library to purchase and maintain every resource needed for the research needs of a college community. Therefore, the libraries support an interlibrary loan program for books and journal articles to supplement the resources in our collection. Students may borrow books and request articles from other libraries through the interlibrary loan service. Visit the library’s Interlibrary Loan LibGuide for complete details.

Allow at least two (2) weeks for delivery of print material. Requested material follows the borrowing policies of the lending library. To renew interlibrary loan material, contact the Library Director’s Admin 908-709-7622 at least five (5) days before the material is due.

Requests for textbooks will not be processed. Only materials that are available free of charge and that are deliverable through the Library Link NJ courier system will be requested. (Courier service not operating during COVID).

Borrowing periods vary; the borrower must abide by the lender’s time frame governing the return of materials.  All overdue costs must be borne by the individual borrower. 

Articles that are not available via the Union County College library resources can be requested via interlibrary loan. Article will be sent via email in 3 to 5 days from the date of the request.

ILL requests are submitted online using the link:

https://ucc.libwizard.com/f/ILLForm

Faculty Reciprocal Borrowing Privileges

Union County College full-time faculty and staff may apply for direct borrowing privileges at participating libraries by completing a VALE Faculty Reciprocal Borrowing Application form and submitting it to a librarian at any campus library. After the Union County College Library director signs, the form, the requester can present the application along with a photo ID at the participating library's circulation desk. You will be issued borrowing privileges and/or a guest borrower card. Privileges are for one academic year and expire June 30th of each year. Over forty college and university libraries throughout New Jersey are part of the VALE Faculty Reciprocal Borrowing program.

All loan items are subject to the policies of the lending library. For more information visit the VALE website at https://vale.njedge.net/initiatives-services/reciprocal-borrowing/

Collection Maintenance (De-selection and De-accessioning)

The Director of Libraries along with his/her designated professional library faculty and staff will be responsible for review and weeding of the collection. De-selected material will be handled by Technical Services as a procedure has been established for de-accessioning that involved notifying the Purchasing Department.

De-selection of materials is critical to maintain a collection viable to our students and college community. Following are the criteria considered when evaluating materials for withdrawal from the collection:

  • Superseded editions
  • Obsolescence
  • Damaged, lost or long-overdue materials
  • Past use-quantity and recency
  • Number of copies in the collection
  • Availability online
  • Changes in curriculum

Gift Policy

The library will accept gifts that are appropriate to the collection.

 Gifts should be brought to the Cranford campus library if possible. For larger gifts (10 or more items,) donors should submit a list of the items for consideration before bringing any items to the campus.

The libraries cannot accept gifts of: 

  • Textbooks
  • Magazines
  • Encyclopedias
  • Items in poor condition

 Gifts must be cleared with the Acquisition librarian. The same criteria used for the selection of all other materials will be used in evaluating gift materials. If there is any question about accepting a gift, the final determination rests with the Director of libraries.

 Materials are accepted without commitments as to final disposition and with the understanding that they will not necessarily be added to the collection. All gifts are final, and by act of donation, the donor relinquishes all rights to ownership and dispensation. Donors should understand this policy prior to donating gifts.

The library does not appraise gifts. On request, the library will provide documentation to the donor that gifts were received. It is the responsibility of the donor to obtain appraisals if needed.

Donors are encouraged to leave their name, address, and relationship to the college (student, alumni, staff, faculty, faculty emeritus, etc.) so that acknowledgment can be sent.

Use of Digital Scanner at the Libraries

The library copiers have scanning capability. The scanner function is available for academic use by registered UCC library patrons.  Print materials may be converted to electronic form and sent to an email address or to a USB storage device.   Smart phones can also be used as a scanner.

Use of Group Study Rooms 

A few small rooms are available for group study/academic activities at each of the college libraries. Rooms are for ACADEMIC use only.

Students are responsible for maintaining social distancing in the group study rooms.

Rooms are available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Use of any of the group-study rooms is governed by the library’s User Conduct and Security Policies. (See below.)

All library users are requested to be considerate and to refrain from making noise or from using audio or electronic equipment at a volume that interferes with others. Noise in a study room that can be heard outside the room will result in the eviction of all occupants.

Remove all personal materials from the room when you leave.  The library is not responsible for materials left unattended in the rooms.

Use of Library by the General Public

The Union County College library, its contents, equipment and facilities ("The Facilities") are the principal purpose of providing educational resources for the faculty, students and staff of The College ("The Principal Users"). Other persons may use The Facilities for research purposes subject to the following rules:

  • No one is to use The Facilities in a manner which interferes with or impedes the use by The Principal Users.
  • Person who are not The Principal Users are limited to the use of The Facilities for one half (1/2) hour each day.
  • Persons who are not The Principal Users must use The Facilities only in designated areas.
  • Any person creating or maintaining a disturbance or nuisance must leave The Facilities upon request.
  • Loitering on the premises or use of The Facilities for other than educational purposes is prohibited.
  • Any person who shall enter upon The Facilities for any purpose other than an educational purpose without prior authorization, or any person who fails or refuses to leave The Facilities when requested to do so, will be deemed a trespasser.

User Conduct and Security

The Union County College libraries are committed to providing a quiet, welcoming, respectful atmosphere conducive to private study and research in an environment that is comfortable, clean, and safe for both library users and personnel.  Any behavior that interferes with this operation of the Union County College libraries may be considered disruptive.

The libraries’ spaces and resources, including the information common areas, are intended for use by individuals engaged in study, research, reading, and learning. Purely social activities and interactions should take place at other locations on campus.  The College provides specific areas for recreational activities such as the student commons and the cafeteria.  Meals should not be brought to or eaten at the libraries. Cell phone use should be confined to other areas and cell phones be set to vibrate as voice and audio impose on others using the communal library spaces.

It is requested that to maintain the educational environment of the libraries for individual patrons, support from Public Safety personnel and the Dean of Students may be necessary.

The conduct of any individual using the Union County College Libraries is governed by all College policies, Union County College libraries' policies, the Union County College Student Regulations as stated in the Student Handbook.

Users who do not adhere to conduct guidelines outlined in the policies may be asked to leave and may be subject to College disciplinary action.

Please note:

  • Use of library Study Rooms/Areas, Computers, Adaptive Equipment, etc.:

Continuous use of any of the special services offered by the libraries is expected.  Any cessation longer than twenty minutes shall be an indication that the user has abandoned the service/equipment.  The service will be reclaimed by the library and will immediately become available to other users.  Any personal items abandoned will be turned over to Campus Security.  Occupancy, noise and food restrictions apply.  See posted signs in rooms.

  • Food and drink: Food is not allowed in the libraries. Food and drink are damaging to library collections and equipment and diminish the longevity and comfort of library furnishings.  Only beverages in containers that have lids or are spill proof are allowed in the libraries
  • Noise and Other Disruptive Behavior:  Library users expect the libraries to be a quiet place for study and research.  All library users are requested to be considerate and to refrain from talking loudly, making noise, using audio or electronic equipment at a volume that interferes with others, or engaging in otherwise disruptive behavior.
     
  • Seating:  Seating may not hinder access within stacks, at emergency or fire doors, or in common transport/walking areas.
     
  • Photographs, recordings, videos, etc.: Library users may not take photographs, recordings, videos, etc. within the library without prior written permission from the library director.

Access for Patrons with Disabilities

All three campus libraries provide wheelchair access to the computer catalog and study carrels. Please contact the library faculty or staff for other available services or assistance.

Children in the Libraries

Under the guidelines set forth in the Union County College Student Handbook, children under 12 are not permitted on campus “unless they are under the immediate supervision of a parent/guardian or enrolled in a special program being offered and supervised by the College.” Special programs include enrolled in Magnet School or Bridge program, or as part of supervised library visits by Continuing Education classes. This guideline extends to the Union County College libraries.

UCC LibGuides at Union County College