Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's History: Women's History Resources: Library

To explore the achievements and events in women's history

Search for Resources from the Libraries: Print Books and e-Books

Search for Books-- use the search box on the Libraries' homepage.

Films On Demand

The Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony --  A part of the series Not for Ourselves Alone: The Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony- A Film by Ken Burns and Paul Barnes. Distributed by PBS Distribution.

Women First & Foremost -- Hosted by Academy Award-winner Rita Moreno and Dee Wallace Stone, Women First & Foremost offers shining examples of how generations of women have achieved their deserved place at the forefront of history. (© Films Media Group.)

Primary Sources - Images, News Reports, First-Hand Accounts, Speeches

A Vindication of the Rights of Woman With Strictures on Political and Moral Subjects -- from the Internet Archive and in the public domain.

Historical New York Times (1851 - 2018) - search news from the related time frames. (From the ProQuest subscription database- will require log-in from off campus.)

Nineteenth Amendment -- a primary document made available from the Library of Congress. The Nineteenth Amendment granted women the right to vote-- importantly, not all women were granted this right-- "...While many women were able to head to the polls, the amendment did not give voting rights to all women. Women of color, immigrants, and lower income women were often deterred from voting by laws and social pressure. For example, Native American women were not considered US citizens until 1924 and were not permitted to vote. Women who were convicted of a crime were also unable to vote, even if they completed their sentence..." from the National Parks Service, Women's Rights National Historical Park, Seneca Falls New York).Library of Congress.

Report of the Woman's Rights Convention -- held at Seneca Falls, NH July 19th and 20th, 1848. "The text of this report is from the original tract produced after the Convention in the North Star Printing Office owned by Frederick Douglass, Rochester, New York. It was reprinted several times and circulated as a sales item at local and national women's rights conventions." (From the National Parks Service, U.S. Department of the Interior.)

Library Databases

African American History - this subscription database includes biographies, timelines, videos, maps, primary sources, and Topic Centers. (Off campus access requires log in.)

American History (Facts on File) - this subscription database includes biographies, timelines, videos, maps, primary sources, and Topic Centers. (Off campus access requires log in.)

Ancient and Medieval History - this subscription database includes biographies, timelines, videos, maps, primary sources, and Topic Centers. (Off campus access requires log in.)

Salem History - Searchable Internet versions of Salem history reference books in the College Libraries collections.

Places to Find More Information About History of Women

We have the following periodicals specifically about women. Once in the database, users may limit to search within the publication:

  Women's studies  (0049-7878)
      
from 12/01/1972 to 18 months ago in Academic Search Premier, etc.
  Women's studies forum  (1225-0228)
      
from 12/31/1985 to 01/31/2007 in GenderWatch
  Women's studies in communication  (0749-1409)
      
from 10/01/1997 to 01/31/2011 in GenderWatch
from 03/01/2004 to present in Communication & Mass Media Complete
  Women's studies international forum  (0277-5395)
      
from 01/01/1995 to present in ScienceDirect 
  Women's studies journal  (0112-4099)
      
from 09/01/2009 to present in GenderWatch

  Women's studies quarterly  (0732-1562)

from 04/01/2001 to 6 months ago in GenderWatch

Decades: Timelines

At each of these 3 links (by Decade), enter the word WOMEN to find relevant information.

Decades: The Fifties in America

Decades: The Sixties in America

Decades: The Seventies in America

UC LibGuides at Union County College