Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCC LibGuides at Union County College
The Background and History of Law Enforcement
Places to Find Articles and Other Information
Criminal Justice Periodicals
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Access to peer-reviewed sources is an option.
Simply type in a term and your results list will bring back news, cases, law reviews. If you would like to narrow your search, the Advanced Options form will help you add restrictions for a more precise results list. Click on "Advanced Options" below the search box to expand the section.
Legal Information Reference Center
This database is consumer oriented source. It includes detailed “how-to” instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues including business law, financial planning, family law, property & real estate and rights & disputes.
Academic Search Premier
This is a multi-disciplinary database including many scholarly and peer-reviewed articles.
This source in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects. Although not peer-reviewed, the reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
This database ccovers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. It has:
•Pro/con viewpoint essays
•More than 300 primary source documents
•Biographies of social activists and reformers
•Periodical articles, some peer reviewed
•Statistical tables, charts and graphs
Points of View
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Included are thousands of supporting articles, some peer reviewed, from the world’s top political and societal publications.
NewsBank: Star-Ledger and The (Trenton) Times
The Star-Ledger, a leading newspaper in New Jersey and coverage here is from June 1989 on.
The Times is a major source of news and community information for the capital region of Trenton, New Jersey. Coverage is from March 1993 on.
Online Handbooks in the Legal Information Reference Center
Criminal Law Handbook (2013)
The criminal justice system, from searches to sentencing, explained in plain English. Published by Nolo. Accessed via Legal Information Reference Center, an EBSCO database.
Criminal Law: A Desk Reference (2013)
Criminal law explained in one comprehensive A to Z guide. Published by Nolo. Accessed via Legal Information Reference Center, an EBSCO database.
National Criminal Justice Service Abstracts Database