Skip to main content

Government Resources at Union County College

Reference Books

Reference books, like dictionaries and encyclopedias, are excellent starting points for your research. They provide background information for potential paper topics.

Search Books and DVDs

Search the catalog for additional books and visual materials.
Suggested keywords include:
  • federal government
  • united nations
  • federalism
  • new deal
  • constitution
  • union county
  • congress 
  • county government
  • or a related topic of your choice.

Find Articles

To find related articles search these databases from the Union County College Libraries Databases. When you are off-campus, your username is your full Union County College email address (jane.doe@owl.ucc.edu). The password will be the same one you use on campus.

  • Academic Search Premier
    • Access to full-text of many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Select "Subject Areas" in left column then select "Government & Politics"
    • Sources include political magazines and government documents.
  • CQ Researcher
    • In-depth analysis of current issues. Coverage includes international affairs, the economy and criminal justice.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    • Pro/con viewpoint essays covering popular social issues. Collection includes statistics and podcasts of presidential addresses.
  • New York Times
    • Full-text access to current and past issues.
  • History Search (not available off-campus)
    • Select American History Online
    • U.S. political, military, social and cultural history reference materials. Includes primary source documents like the U.S. Constitution, state charters and the Declaration of Independence.
  • Star Ledger Archive
    • Full-text articles available by searching the archives for The Star-Ledger, The Times, Trenton, The Jersey Journal, The Gloucester Co. Times, and other NJ newspapers.

Select Websites

Research TipYou can rely on government websites for reliable, research-worthy information on the web. Use this brief list of New Jersey government websites to find statistics, reports, regulations and forms. 

UCC LibGuides at Union County College